Page MenuHomeFreeBSD

kbowling (Kevin Bowling)
User

Projects

User Details

User Since
Jun 6 2015, 10:46 PM (362 w, 1 d)

Recent Activity

Yesterday

kbowling requested review of D35218: igc: PCI IDs.
Sun, May 15, 9:43 PM
kbowling requested review of D35217: igc: Increase rx_buffer_size local variable to 32b.
Sun, May 15, 5:10 PM

Tue, May 10

kbowling requested review of D35167: e1000: Increase rx_buffer_size to 32b.
Tue, May 10, 4:24 PM

Wed, May 4

kbowling requested review of D35119: Disable VNET tests on CI temporarily.
Wed, May 4, 2:43 AM

Tue, Apr 19

kbowling accepted D34924: ixl(4): Add support for I710 devices and remove non-inclusive language.
Tue, Apr 19, 4:18 PM

Apr 13 2022

kbowling closed D32603: ixgbe: Update mc filter before FCTRL flags.

Committed as 395cc55d8966

Apr 13 2022, 4:19 PM
kbowling closed D32602: e1000: Update mc filter before RCTL flags.

Committed as 07ede751612f

Apr 13 2022, 4:19 PM
kbowling accepted D34449: Allow em(4) to particpate in auto-negotiation for fixed 100b or 10b configuration.

I think hw->phy.autoneg_wait_to_complete is also set to false in the driver earlier in em_if_attach_pre() and never changes.

Apr 13 2022, 4:10 PM

Feb 3 2022

kbowling accepted D34160: tcp: fix typo in commit f026275e26d0071ac3dee98526e8b9bcad58f0fa.
Feb 3 2022, 8:19 PM
kbowling accepted D34148: Explicitly set IP ECN header codepoint properly.
Feb 3 2022, 1:50 AM

Dec 20 2021

kbowling accepted D33156: iflib: fix vlan offload processing across multiple drivers..
Dec 20 2021, 10:34 AM

Dec 18 2021

kbowling added a comment to D33156: iflib: fix vlan offload processing across multiple drivers..

I'm less optimistic about the ifp seeing the change required in all drivers, @gallatin odes anyone have any idea on the impact of the ifp pointer chase and fetch versus grabbing it from the already fetched scctx in these hot paths? How would we sync scctx_capenable with ifnet, that seems to be a critical missing implementation from the outset.

Dec 18 2021, 8:40 PM

Dec 14 2021

kbowling updated subscribers of D31485: iflib: Allow drivers to determine which queue to TX on.
In D31485#754650, @erj wrote:

Though, part of the problem with this patch is that I'm not entirely sure with what I want the parameters of ift_txq_select to be.

Right now it takes the mbuf pointer which is enough for what we want to do with it in an upcoming ice(4) patch, but in the future I'll need to use DSCP/IP ToS information in that function as well. I think I should be able to put that information inside the mbuf along with something like an M_DSCP flag. Though, one version I had before also had the if_pkt_info_t struct as well as having the headers (partially) parsed before this queue selection function was called in order to avoid having to modify mbufs like that.

Dec 14 2021, 8:48 PM

Dec 10 2021

kbowling accepted D31485: iflib: Allow drivers to determine which queue to TX on.
Dec 10 2021, 12:53 AM

Dec 1 2021

kbowling accepted D33155: em: skip rxcsum offload processing when disabled.

LGTM

Dec 1 2021, 5:25 PM
kbowling accepted D33157: e1000: remove unused ifp backpointer.
Dec 1 2021, 5:24 PM

Nov 1 2021

kbowling accepted D32772: igc: Use hardware routine for PHY reset.

LGTM

Nov 1 2021, 11:36 PM

Oct 27 2021

kbowling updated subscribers of D32585: SMR protection for inpcbs.
In D32585#737015, @np wrote:

Note. This change requires PCBGROUP to be retired.

Have you circulated this proposal in the wider -net and -vendor community? I know of one downstream that uses this feature.

Oct 27 2021, 3:46 PM

Oct 22 2021

kbowling retitled D32603: ixgbe: Update mc filter before FCTRL flags from ixgbe: Update mc filter before FCTL flags to ixgbe: Update mc filter before FCTRL flags.
Oct 22 2021, 3:09 PM
kbowling retitled D32603: ixgbe: Update mc filter before FCTRL flags from ixgbe: Update mc filter before RCTL flags to ixgbe: Update mc filter before FCTL flags.
Oct 22 2021, 3:09 PM
kbowling requested review of D32603: ixgbe: Update mc filter before FCTRL flags.
Oct 22 2021, 3:08 PM
kbowling updated the diff for D32602: e1000: Update mc filter before RCTL flags.
Oct 22 2021, 3:08 PM
kbowling updated the diff for D32602: e1000: Update mc filter before RCTL flags.
Oct 22 2021, 3:07 PM
kbowling requested review of D32602: e1000: Update mc filter before RCTL flags.
Oct 22 2021, 3:06 PM

Oct 20 2021

kbowling accepted D32574: Fix setting of RCTL register when modifying multicast filters..
Oct 20 2021, 3:56 PM

Oct 10 2021

kbowling planned changes to D32388: led: Eliminate sleepable mutex.

It was pointed out to me there is still an issue in that we pick up a new sx within the epoch, both in create and timeout with my patch as is For some reason the epoch _preempt variety doesn't produce a diagnostic so I will look into that code.

Oct 10 2021, 3:15 PM

Oct 9 2021

kbowling accepted D32402: databases/hbase: Update MASTER_SITES, deprecate and set expiration date to 2022-03-31.
Oct 9 2021, 8:49 PM
kbowling updated the diff for D32388: led: Eliminate sleepable mutex.

Thanks @markj what do you think of this approach using epoch?

Oct 9 2021, 8:14 PM
kbowling added a comment to D32388: led: Eliminate sleepable mutex.

Thank you!

Side note:

Also see: D31215

Oct 9 2021, 5:36 AM
kbowling added a comment to D32389: iflib: Create led(4) devices.

Jose submitted a variant where the driver (e1000 in this case) calls the iflib_led_create() function in its post attach. I am open to either approach if anyone has any thoughts one way or the other.

Oct 9 2021, 5:30 AM
kbowling requested review of D32389: iflib: Create led(4) devices.
Oct 9 2021, 3:15 AM
kbowling requested review of D32388: led: Eliminate sleepable mutex.
Oct 9 2021, 3:11 AM

Oct 7 2021

kbowling added a comment to D31621: ixgbe: Update shared code.

Ping. Awaiting approval

Oct 7 2021, 1:32 AM

Oct 6 2021

kbowling added inline comments to D31869: ixgbe: Check for fw_recovery.
Oct 6 2021, 11:43 PM
kbowling added a reviewer for D31869: ixgbe: Check for fw_recovery: gallatin.
Oct 6 2021, 11:42 PM
kbowling updated the test plan for D32333: e1000: print EEPROM/NVM/OROM versions.
Oct 6 2021, 8:43 PM
kbowling added a comment to D32333: e1000: print EEPROM/NVM/OROM versions.

@gallatin can you have another look? The locking model on the e1000 is tricky due to the HW so I stashed the info on attach. There's a separate KASSERT fix for em_print_nvm_info for review as well.

Oct 6 2021, 6:41 PM
kbowling updated the diff for D32333: e1000: print EEPROM/NVM/OROM versions.
Oct 6 2021, 6:38 PM
kbowling added inline comments to D32333: e1000: print EEPROM/NVM/OROM versions.
Oct 6 2021, 6:25 PM
kbowling updated the diff for D32333: e1000: print EEPROM/NVM/OROM versions.
Oct 6 2021, 6:23 PM
kbowling updated the diff for D32333: e1000: print EEPROM/NVM/OROM versions.
Oct 6 2021, 6:20 PM
kbowling updated the diff for D32333: e1000: print EEPROM/NVM/OROM versions.
Oct 6 2021, 1:53 AM
kbowling requested review of D32333: e1000: print EEPROM/NVM/OROM versions.
Oct 6 2021, 12:46 AM

Oct 5 2021

kbowling requested review of D32329: e1000: function prototype cleanup.
Oct 5 2021, 9:25 PM

Oct 1 2021

kbowling planned changes to D32260: mgb: cleanup.

will look at this once remote access is available

Oct 1 2021, 7:29 PM
kbowling updated the diff for D32260: mgb: cleanup.

Enable the msix rxtx vec

Oct 1 2021, 6:10 PM
kbowling requested review of D32260: mgb: cleanup.
Oct 1 2021, 5:35 PM

Sep 30 2021

kbowling accepted D32231: mgb: Fix nop interrupt handling.
Sep 30 2021, 3:44 PM

Sep 29 2021

kbowling accepted D32229: uart: Allow PCI quirk for not using MSI interrupts.
Sep 29 2021, 7:25 PM
kbowling accepted D32228: uart: Match simple comm.
Sep 29 2021, 7:17 PM

Sep 28 2021

kbowling added inline comments to D30002: e1000: Fix up HW vlan ops.
Sep 28 2021, 11:27 PM

Sep 27 2021

kbowling closed D32087: e1000: Re-arm link changes.

Committed in https://cgit.freebsd.org/src/commit/?id=450c3f8b3d259c7eb82488319aff45f1f6554aaf

Sep 27 2021, 5:27 PM

Sep 25 2021

kbowling requested review of D32146: uart: Add PCI ID for intel 100 Series/C230 Series AMT.
Sep 25 2021, 10:18 PM
kbowling requested review of D32145: e1000: Fix tabstop width in if_em.h.
Sep 25 2021, 7:00 PM
kbowling added inline comments to D32131: ixgbe: Rename 'struct adapter' to 'struct ixgbe_softc'.
Sep 25 2021, 6:34 PM
kbowling updated the diff for D32131: ixgbe: Rename 'struct adapter' to 'struct ixgbe_softc'.

ts=8

Sep 25 2021, 6:33 PM
kbowling added a comment to D31869: ixgbe: Check for fw_recovery.

I would like to commit this on the 27th if there is no feedback.

Sep 25 2021, 2:12 AM
kbowling updated the diff for D32131: ixgbe: Rename 'struct adapter' to 'struct ixgbe_softc'.
Sep 25 2021, 2:06 AM
kbowling updated the diff for D32131: ixgbe: Rename 'struct adapter' to 'struct ixgbe_softc'.
Sep 25 2021, 2:02 AM
kbowling planned changes to D32131: ixgbe: Rename 'struct adapter' to 'struct ixgbe_softc'.

Need to fix ixv

Sep 25 2021, 1:48 AM
kbowling added a reviewer for D32131: ixgbe: Rename 'struct adapter' to 'struct ixgbe_softc': Intel Networking.
Sep 25 2021, 1:44 AM
kbowling requested review of D32131: ixgbe: Rename 'struct adapter' to 'struct ixgbe_softc'.
Sep 25 2021, 1:44 AM
kbowling requested review of D32129: e1000: Rename 'struct adapter' to 'struct e1000_sc'.
Sep 25 2021, 12:09 AM

Sep 24 2021

kbowling added a comment to D31621: ixgbe: Update shared code.

I'd like to commit this on the 27th (2 week feedback window) if there is no other discussion.

Sep 24 2021, 9:45 PM
kbowling updated the diff for D32087: e1000: Re-arm link changes.
Sep 24 2021, 5:57 PM
kbowling planned changes to D32087: e1000: Re-arm link changes.

This may be a timing issue planning to check a few more things

Sep 24 2021, 7:12 AM
kbowling retitled D32087: e1000: Re-arm link changes from e1000: Re-arm link changes for lem(4) and em(4) to e1000: Re-arm link changes.
Sep 24 2021, 7:09 AM

Sep 23 2021

kbowling requested review of D32087: e1000: Re-arm link changes.
Sep 23 2021, 9:08 PM
kbowling accepted D28636: iavf(4): Split source and update to 3.0.26-k.

Concept ACK. I don't have anything to test it on at the moment.

Sep 23 2021, 1:42 AM

Sep 17 2021

kbowling added a reviewer for D31869: ixgbe: Check for fw_recovery: piotr.pietruszewski_intel.com.
Sep 17 2021, 10:20 PM
kbowling added a reviewer for D31621: ixgbe: Update shared code: piotr.pietruszewski_intel.com.
Sep 17 2021, 10:19 PM
kbowling accepted D32008: Remove support for FreeBSD 11.4.
Sep 17 2021, 6:12 PM
kbowling accepted D32004: ixv(4): Allow PF to control the VF link state.
Sep 17 2021, 4:32 PM

Sep 16 2021

kbowling requested review of D31979: igc: Fix up hw vlan ops.
Sep 16 2021, 1:45 AM

Sep 14 2021

kbowling updated the summary of D30002: e1000: Fix up HW vlan ops.
Sep 14 2021, 4:02 PM
kbowling updated the diff for D31621: ixgbe: Update shared code.
Sep 14 2021, 1:00 AM
kbowling reopened D31621: ixgbe: Update shared code.
Sep 14 2021, 12:58 AM

Sep 7 2021

kbowling requested review of D31869: ixgbe: Check for fw_recovery.
Sep 7 2021, 6:08 AM
kbowling added a comment to D31621: ixgbe: Update shared code.

@imp For posterity, the way I generated the patches.. @erj maybe the DPDK team can use a method like this too so we stay in lockstep

Sep 7 2021, 5:54 AM
kbowling reopened D31621: ixgbe: Update shared code.
Sep 7 2021, 5:39 AM
kbowling updated the diff for D31621: ixgbe: Update shared code.

Update with remaining catch-up diff

Sep 7 2021, 5:39 AM

Sep 5 2021

kbowling accepted D31834: if_bge: Add support for WOL.

Seems fine to me.

Sep 5 2021, 4:33 PM

Aug 31 2021

kbowling accepted D31758: stable/12: iflib: fix potential NULL dereference.
Aug 31 2021, 6:47 PM
kbowling accepted D31729: pf: import pf_set_protostate() from OpenBSD.
Aug 31 2021, 5:25 PM
kbowling accepted D31713: pf: Add counters for syncookies.
Aug 31 2021, 5:22 PM
kbowling added inline comments to D31713: pf: Add counters for syncookies.
Aug 31 2021, 2:21 AM

Aug 30 2021

kbowling updated subscribers of D31244: arm: Bump KSTACK_PAGES default to match i386/amd64.

@stevek @ian -- @mjg is reporting deadlocks with a heavy userspace load with this change on stable/12 on a 2GB arm platform.

Aug 30 2021, 10:09 PM

Aug 26 2021

kbowling accepted D31700: tcp: Remove unused v6 state definitions.
Aug 26 2021, 9:07 PM

Aug 24 2021

kbowling updated subscribers of D31621: ixgbe: Update shared code.
Aug 24 2021, 5:57 PM
kbowling added a comment to D31621: ixgbe: Update shared code.
In D31621#713873, @erj wrote:

I'd like to bias for action in any case because this all looks correct and needful so the sooner I can start committing the happier I'll be. I used a diff tool to do the first pass because I didn't realize the DPDK devs were doing incremental updates. In the past the shared code has landed as a big change with little associated revision information. After finding the commits I am leaning toward replaying the commits so we can preserve the why.

I think this is still something that needs to be discussed within the community. We have the capability to do that (see the Linux kernel!), but I already see issues with e.g. authorship from a large amount of commits not being that of a FreeBSD committer, as well as potentially polluting the FreeBSD git logs with lots of Intel Ethernet-only stuff.

Aug 24 2021, 3:56 PM
kbowling added inline comments to D31621: ixgbe: Update shared code.
Aug 24 2021, 3:35 PM

Aug 23 2021

kbowling added a comment to D31621: ixgbe: Update shared code.
In D31621#713498, @imp wrote:
Aug 23 2021, 4:05 PM

Aug 22 2021

kbowling added a comment to D31621: ixgbe: Update shared code.
In D31621#713448, @imp wrote:

@erj I think with the list of commits above I could replay them one by one. I'd like to get blanket approval to commit all them if folks want me to do it that way.

Just a process note:

If you wanted to do them as individual commits from dpdk, possibly with a final FreeBSD fixup commit that gave the same final answer, there's plenty of people that have done exactly that and unless @erj strongly objects, you could do that.
If people want to review the individual commits, then I'd strongly suggest using markj's git-arc.sh script that's in tools/tools/git since it makes it super easy to stage an entire branch into a number of phab reviews all at once.
If there's a bunch of files that are identical to dpdk, contact me off review and I can help you setup a vendor branch which may make doing imports in the future easier if this is going to be an ongoing thing.
And thanks for chasing all this down.

Aug 22 2021, 4:04 PM
kbowling updated the diff for D31633: ixgbe: Avoid sbuf_trim in sysctl handler.

Address review

Aug 22 2021, 6:26 AM
kbowling requested review of D31633: ixgbe: Avoid sbuf_trim in sysctl handler.
Aug 22 2021, 5:05 AM
kbowling added a comment to D31621: ixgbe: Update shared code.

@erj I think with the list of commits above I could replay them one by one. I'd like to get blanket approval to commit all them if folks want me to do it that way.

Aug 22 2021, 4:31 AM

Aug 21 2021

kbowling added inline comments to D31621: ixgbe: Update shared code.
Aug 21 2021, 12:24 AM
kbowling updated the summary of D31621: ixgbe: Update shared code.
Aug 21 2021, 12:04 AM
kbowling added inline comments to D31621: ixgbe: Update shared code.
Aug 21 2021, 12:03 AM

Aug 20 2021

kbowling requested review of D31625: e1000: Make em_enable_wakeup family aware.
Aug 20 2021, 10:39 PM