Page MenuHomeFreeBSD

iflib: Add subinterface interrupt allocation function
Needs ReviewPublic

Authored by erj on May 1 2023, 11:42 PM.
Tags
None
Referenced Files
Unknown Object (File)
Mon, Apr 8, 3:48 PM
Unknown Object (File)
Feb 29 2024, 7:11 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Feb 28 2024, 1:48 PM
Unknown Object (File)
Feb 28 2024, 12:00 PM
Unknown Object (File)
Feb 28 2024, 10:21 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Feb 28 2024, 3:01 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Feb 26 2024, 3:04 PM
Unknown Object (File)
Feb 26 2024, 2:30 PM

Details

Reviewers
shurd
Group Reviewers
iflib
Intel Networking
Summary

The ice(4) driver will add the ability to create extra interfaces
that hang off of the base interface; to do that the driver requires
a method for the subinterface to request hardware interrupt resources
from the base interface. This functionality is planned to be upstreamed to the ice(4) driver soon.

Note: this is part of a stack of patches that also includes whitespace fixes as well as an extra helper function.

Diff Detail

Repository
rG FreeBSD src repository
Lint
Lint Passed
Unit
No Test Coverage
Build Status
Buildable 56142
Build 53030: arc lint + arc unit

Event Timeline

erj held this revision as a draft.
erj published this revision for review.May 1 2023, 11:43 PM
gallatin added inline comments.
sys/net/iflib.c
2514

Can you explain the move from sctx to scctx here?

6862

As I said on the other review before I noticed it was abandoned: Some whitespace changes snuck in. Please remove them from this functional commit..

sys/net/iflib.c
2514

This could've been a separate patch -- but I noticed that both sctx and scctx are referring to the same structure in ctx, so I just changed things to just use one of them. I'm not sure what the original intent for sctx was.

6862

Krzysztof suggested this when I let him review this patch, too. I was worried about how Jeff would apply it if it were more than one patch (that's why it was two but I combined it into one), but the documentation does say that arc patch should automatically pull the predecessors in a patch stack, so maybe that wasn't necessary. I'll pull the whitespace/alignment changes out, anyway.

Split changes out into different Differential revisions for easier review

erj retitled this revision from iflib: Add helper functions for subinterface creation to iflib: Add subinterface interrupt allocation function.
erj edited the summary of this revision. (Show Details)
erj added a reviewer: Intel Networking.
erj edited the summary of this revision. (Show Details)

@jeffrey.e.pieper_intel.com Applying this revision using "arc patch" should pull all the parent revisions, too, but we'll have to double check to make sure.

sys/net/iflib.c
2514

This change was moved to D41325 to provide more clarity.

6862

I moved non-functional whitespace changes to D41324.

Any new thoughts on this review or the previous one in the stack? I'd like to get these in for 14.0-RELEASE.

@erj can you post the draft driver update, I'd like to see how it intends to use this patch stack before commentary

Rebase on latest main; remove whitespace error

Update value used for IFLIB_FEATURE_SUB_INTERFACES

@erj can you post the draft driver update, I'd like to see how it intends to use this patch stack before commentary

It's very late, but it's here: https://reviews.freebsd.org/D44004. This review and that one are part of the same Phabricator patch stack now.