Page MenuHomeFreeBSD

ethernet: Remove FCS bit
ClosedPublic

Authored by zlei on Oct 28 2023, 8:39 PM.
Tags
None
Referenced Files
Unknown Object (File)
Fri, Jul 19, 9:54 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Mon, Jul 8, 2:54 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Thu, Jul 4, 5:06 PM
Unknown Object (File)
Jun 24 2024, 3:21 AM
Unknown Object (File)
May 17 2024, 5:41 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Apr 20 2024, 7:55 PM
Unknown Object (File)
Feb 10 2024, 3:57 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Feb 1 2024, 8:23 AM

Details

Reviewers
kp
Group Reviewers
network
Commits
rG09164454aa4c: ethernet: Retire M_HASFCS
Summary

The last consumer ng_atmllc has been removed in 105a4f7b3cb6 .

Diff Detail

Repository
rG FreeBSD src repository
Lint
Lint Not Applicable
Unit
Tests Not Applicable

Event Timeline

zlei requested review of this revision.Oct 28 2023, 8:39 PM
zlei retitled this revision from ethernet: Remove FCS check to ethernet: Remove FCS bit.

This is a breaking change. 3rd party drivers should take care of it.

This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Oct 30 2023, 11:19 AM

This is a breaking change. 3rd party drivers should take care of it.

It's fairly straightforward for 3rd party drivers to chase this tough, I don't think it's a big concern.

This is a breaking change. 3rd party drivers should take care of it.

It's fairly straightforward for 3rd party drivers to chase this tough, I don't think it's a big concern.

I spent lots of time to check the 3rd party consumers ( mostly done by searching on github ) of M_HASFCS . There's only little consumers so I think it is time to commit this :)

While Linux does support tap traffic without good CRC (FCS) via tcpdump / bpf. I think that is most useful for developing drivers / hardwares or diagnosing noisy wireless environment, but I think that (enable capturing bad CRC via bpf) should be turned on per interface and still those packets with bad CRC should not enter net stack. So I'm convinced this is the right approach.

I'm sure I've seen FCSes in 802.11 bpf traces? Maybe that's happening at the 802.11 radiotap level?

I'm sure I've seen FCSes in 802.11 bpf traces? Maybe that's happening at the 802.11 radiotap level?

I'm not familiar with 802.11, But the manpage https://man.freebsd.org/cgi/man.cgi?query=ieee80211_radiotap says radiotap level would get FCS.

IEEE80211_RADIOTAP_F_FCS

Frame contents includes the FCS.

CC @bz , he is working on 802.11 .

This revision was automatically updated to reflect the committed changes.