Page MenuHomeFreeBSD

Update sysutils/docker-freebsd to new version
Needs RevisionPublic

Authored by joneum on Sep 9 2019, 8:20 AM.

Details

Summary

this review is intended to help integrate dockers into FreeBSD
and make them run.

Help is welcome

TODO: runC, libnetwork and containerd

Test Plan

Diff Detail

Repository
rP FreeBSD ports repository
Lint
No Linters Available
Unit
No Unit Test Coverage
Build Status
Buildable 27040
Build 25328: arc lint + arc unit

Event Timeline

joneum created this revision.Sep 9 2019, 8:20 AM
joneum added a reviewer: bcr.Sep 9 2019, 8:21 AM
joneum updated this revision to Diff 61822.Sep 9 2019, 8:24 AM

Add more files

joneum updated this revision to Diff 61823.Sep 9 2019, 8:27 AM

Fix Makefile

0mp added a subscriber: 0mp.Sep 9 2019, 11:02 AM
0mp added inline comments.
sysutils/docker-freebsd/Makefile
9

Shouldn't moby be capitalized?

joneum added inline comments.Sep 9 2019, 11:08 AM
sysutils/docker-freebsd/Makefile
9

We can change that. At the moment we are concentrating on the port building. We will then see what "COMMENT" says at the end ... :-)

linimon retitled this revision from Update docker to new Version to Update sysutils/docker-freebsd to new version and rename.Sep 9 2019, 8:20 PM
dmgk added a subscriber: dmgk.Sep 10 2019, 4:12 PM
dmgk added inline comments.
sysutils/docker-freebsd/Makefile
23

Either GH_SUBDIR or GO_PKGNAME is OK, specifying both is not necessary. GO_PKGNAME gets inferred from GH_SUBDIR if omitted.

24

Could be just ./cmd/dockerd

joneum retitled this revision from Update sysutils/docker-freebsd to new version and rename to Update sysutils/docker-freebsd to new version.Sep 12 2019, 10:24 AM
joneum edited the summary of this revision. (Show Details)
joneum added reviewers: lifanov, dmgk.
joneum edited the test plan for this revision. (Show Details)
lwhsu added a subscriber: lwhsu.Sep 17 2019, 6:10 PM
joneum updated this revision to Diff 62266.Sep 18 2019, 12:23 PM

Update Makefile, Reported by dmgk

emaste added a subscriber: emaste.Oct 9 2019, 7:20 PM
joneum updated this revision to Diff 63286.Oct 15 2019, 8:27 AM

Update to 19.03.3

Hi, just saw this. I'm keeping an eye on it and am interested in helping where I can. I haven't yet looked at the code, but it's on my agenda in the coming couple of weeks.

What kind of testing is needed on this? I might be able to start there.

(Oh and this is my first time on FreeBSD Phabricator, so if I'm not doing this right, please do let me know)

Further patches have to be applied to remove the errors.

But I don't know if it's worth developing the project further, because Docker is obviously at the end of its life.

Certainly there are lots of questions around Docker-the-company at the moment, but there's still a lot of use and interest today and I would still very much like to see this proceed.

trasz added a subscriber: trasz.Dec 17 2019, 3:48 PM
koobs added a subscriber: koobs.Dec 19 2019, 5:35 AM
joneum added a subscriber: rene.Jan 11 2020, 11:47 AM

Because @rene deleted the port without asking [1], I set all work here now.
Thanks to everyone who had put time and energy into the project until here

[1] https://svnweb.freebsd.org/changeset/ports/522677

joneum accepted this revision.Jan 11 2020, 11:48 AM
This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Jan 11 2020, 11:48 AM
joneum closed this revision.Jan 11 2020, 11:48 AM
koobs reopened this revision.Jan 11 2020, 1:08 PM

Note: I have WIP updates to fix some of the errors

If anyone has additions/fixed, please provide diffs

This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Jan 11 2020, 1:08 PM
koobs requested changes to this revision.Jan 11 2020, 1:08 PM
This revision now requires changes to proceed.Jan 11 2020, 1:08 PM
koobs added a comment.Jan 11 2020, 1:09 PM

@joneum You can abandon revisions instead of accepting/closing. Would you like the remain author on this?

@koobs: i have been searching the days for solutions to the error.
After the port was deleted without consultation, I'm currently not in the mood anymore. I need a few days off, but am still interested in maintaining the port. If you have suggestions for a solution to the problem, I'm open.

I'll use the days to think about whether to give up my commit bit, and just continue as a normal maintainer.
The current incident has once again shown that people no longer communicate with others, but simply do what they want. And that is not my policy. It robs me of the fun.

koobs added a comment.Jan 11 2020, 1:20 PM

I'll use the days to think about whether to give up my commit bit, and just continue as a normal maintainer.
The current incident has once again shown that people no longer communicate with others, but simply do what they want. And that is not my policy. It robs me of the fun.

I understand. Hit me up on IRC when you're available and feeling up to it and I can share my diffs :)

trasz added a comment.Jan 12 2020, 8:48 PM

Wait, end of life? How? Why? What have I missed?

bapt added a subscriber: bapt.Jan 13 2020, 8:46 AM

When a port is broken for more than 6 month, there is a normal procedure that mark it as deprecated and then remove it from the ports tree at expiration date. this is almost automatic; Note that every month there is a notice about this.

The main reason is there is no point in keeping broken ports in base that misdrive users, it is very easy to readd the port in the ports tree once a working version do exist again. It does not prevent anyone from working after the removal from the ports tree.

Btw now that we have overlay both in ports and poudriere (-devel) it is even more easy to work on such port outside of the tree and readd it later once it is working again.

This is the way things are being done in the ports tree since for ever (at least since before my time), nothing new here.

@joneum I hope you would reconsider, continue working on this and bringing it back to the tree once it is ready.

heya,

what are all these updates? :-)

Greetings
Jochen

Am 11.01.20 um 14:08 schrieb koobs (Kubilay Kocak):

koobs reopened this revision.
koobs added a comment.
This revision is now accepted and ready to land.

Note: I have WIP updates to fix some of the errors
If anyone has additions/fixed, please provide diffs

REPOSITORY

rP FreeBSD ports repository

CHANGES SINCE LAST ACTION

https://reviews.freebsd.org/D21570/new/

REVISION DETAIL

https://reviews.freebsd.org/D21570

EMAIL PREFERENCES

https://reviews.freebsd.org/settings/panel/emailpreferences/

To: joneum, decke, bcr, dteske, lifanov, dmgk
Cc: rene, koobs, trasz, ag-freebsd-reviews_muc.de, nvass-gmx.com, peeyush.singh_gmail.com, asig_sigalas.eu, emaste, tremere_cainites.net, lwhsu, dmgk, 0mp, mat