Page MenuHomeFreeBSD

rename in-tree libevent v1 from libevent to libevent1
ClosedPublic

Authored by emaste on Sep 21 2018, 5:07 PM.

Details

Summary

rS316063 installed pf's embedded libevent as a private lib, with headers in /usr/include/private/event. Unfortunately we also have an embedded copy of libevent2 in ntp, which needs to be updated for compatibility with OpenSSL 1.1. As unadorned 'libevent' generally refers to libevent v2, be explicit with libevent1.

Diff Detail

Repository
rS FreeBSD src repository
Lint
Automatic diff as part of commit; lint not applicable.
Unit
Automatic diff as part of commit; unit tests not applicable.

Event Timeline

emaste created this revision.Sep 21 2018, 5:07 PM
vangyzen accepted this revision.Sep 21 2018, 5:13 PM
This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Sep 21 2018, 5:13 PM
emaste added a subscriber: kp.
emaste added a subscriber: jkim.Sep 21 2018, 5:40 PM
jkim added a comment.Sep 21 2018, 6:21 PM

There are actually consumers and you need to modify these files.

usr.sbin/ftp-proxy/Makefile
usr.sbin/ypldap/Makefile
share/mk/src.libnames.mk

However, it seems libevent 2.x is using event2 for its headers. I am not sure whether we really want to do this.

OK - this is not a dependency for importing libevent 2.1.8 into vendor/libevent (and using it as libntpevent), so I'll proceed with that independent of this review.

emaste added a comment.Nov 8 2019, 3:11 PM

However, it seems libevent 2.x is using event2 for its headers. I am not sure whether we really want to do this.

libevent 2 does install as libevent.a / libevent.so though.

I think there is still value in doing this - there's a comment in D10123 that libevent1 was chosen specifically due to the smaller size, and I think it's useful to be clear that we explicitly chose libevent1 rather than just having an old copy that we never updated.

emaste updated this revision to Diff 64076.Nov 8 2019, 3:12 PM
emaste retitled this revision from rename unused libevent to libevent1 to rename in-tree libevent v1 from libevent to libevent1.
  • migrate consumers
  • update title
This revision now requires review to proceed.Nov 8 2019, 3:12 PM
This revision was not accepted when it landed; it landed in state Needs Review.May 28 2020, 10:06 PM
This revision was automatically updated to reflect the committed changes.