Page MenuHomeFreeBSD

brooks (Brooks Davis)
User

Projects

User Details

User Since
Jul 1 2014, 6:02 PM (250 w, 4 d)

Recent Activity

Wed, Apr 17

brooks committed rP499184: Fix the installation of llvm-lit's "cat" utility..
Fix the installation of llvm-lit's "cat" utility.
Wed, Apr 17, 4:20 PM

Tue, Apr 16

brooks added a comment to D19917: Implement linux_sendfile for the linuxulator.

This generally looks good to me.

Tue, Apr 16, 7:25 PM

Fri, Apr 12

brooks committed rP498732: Apply a manually updated version of FreeBSD HEAD r338297 as required to.
Apply a manually updated version of FreeBSD HEAD r338297 as required to
Fri, Apr 12, 5:23 PM

Wed, Apr 3

brooks committed rP497743: Fix broken plist..
Fix broken plist.
Wed, Apr 3, 6:36 PM

Mon, Apr 1

brooks accepted D19778: Reap idle src bits.
Mon, Apr 1, 9:44 PM
brooks accepted D19778: Reap idle src bits.
Mon, Apr 1, 9:33 PM
brooks accepted D19782: jhb@ will take over as mentor to anish@.
Mon, Apr 1, 9:31 PM
brooks committed rP497499: Update to a new snapshot..
Update to a new snapshot.
Mon, Apr 1, 6:00 PM
brooks committed rP497498: Remove LLVM 3.8.x..
Remove LLVM 3.8.x.
Mon, Apr 1, 5:50 PM

Wed, Mar 27

brooks added a comment to D19722: lang/ghc: remove ghc-8.4.x support on arm.

We can certainly delay removal if this is a significant loss. I didn't see this one since it's hard to see dependencies on platforms I don't run.

Wed, Mar 27, 7:26 PM

Mon, Mar 25

brooks committed rP496861: Deprecate and slap an expiriation date on llvm50..
Deprecate and slap an expiriation date on llvm50.
Mon, Mar 25, 11:59 PM
brooks committed rP496860: Remove dependency on llvm50..
Remove dependency on llvm50.
Mon, Mar 25, 11:45 PM
brooks committed rP496859: Remove dependency on llvm50.
Remove dependency on llvm50
Mon, Mar 25, 11:43 PM

Mar 20 2019

brooks committed rP496395: Set an expiration date somewhat after the 5th anniversary of this port's.
Set an expiration date somewhat after the 5th anniversary of this port's
Mar 20 2019, 11:19 PM
brooks committed rP496394: Set an expiration date of next Saturday..
Set an expiration date of next Saturday.
Mar 20 2019, 11:09 PM
brooks committed rP496392: Correct distinfo after a last minute update of the llvm version..
Correct distinfo after a last minute update of the llvm version.
Mar 20 2019, 10:52 PM
brooks committed rP496388: Switch to LLVM_DEFAULT from an hardcoded llvm40..
Switch to LLVM_DEFAULT from an hardcoded llvm40.
Mar 20 2019, 9:40 PM
brooks committed rP496386: Update to 8.0.0 Release..
Update to 8.0.0 Release.
Mar 20 2019, 8:19 PM

Mar 19 2019

brooks committed rP496274: Upgrade to a new LLVM 9-pre based snapshot..
Upgrade to a new LLVM 9-pre based snapshot.
Mar 19 2019, 4:53 PM

Mar 14 2019

brooks accepted D19584: mips: remove dead comment and definitions..

I confirm that I see no uses.

Mar 14 2019, 6:15 PM
brooks committed rS345136: Style(9): add a missing space between argument declerations..
Style(9): add a missing space between argument declerations.
Mar 14 2019, 3:56 PM
brooks committed rS345135: Remove an unused struct proc *p1 in cpu_fork()..
Remove an unused struct proc *p1 in cpu_fork().
Mar 14 2019, 3:55 PM
brooks closed D16226: [MIPS]: reap unused struct proc *p1;.
Mar 14 2019, 3:55 PM
brooks accepted D16226: [MIPS]: reap unused struct proc *p1;.

LGTM. Sorry I missed this before, I'll commit in a moment with a comment tweak.

Mar 14 2019, 3:53 PM
brooks committed rP495721: Use LLVM_DEFAULT rather than hardcoding a version..
Use LLVM_DEFAULT rather than hardcoding a version.
Mar 14 2019, 3:35 PM

Mar 13 2019

brooks committed rP495613: Update to 8.0.0rc5..
Update to 8.0.0rc5.
Mar 13 2019, 4:35 PM

Mar 12 2019

brooks closed D19515: Direct readers to the license policy. Encourage questions..
Mar 12 2019, 5:42 PM
brooks committed rD52861: Refer to the license policy document as the source of truth..
Refer to the license policy document as the source of truth.
Mar 12 2019, 5:42 PM
brooks committed rP495460: Upgrade to the latest version on github..
Upgrade to the latest version on github.
Mar 12 2019, 3:34 PM

Mar 11 2019

brooks accepted D19550: Kill tz_minuteswest and tz_dsttime..

Looks good to me.

Mar 11 2019, 10:12 PM
brooks accepted D18774: Add AMD NTB Hardware Driver for AMD SoC.

This is dual licensed and fine per current policy.

Mar 11 2019, 6:58 PM
brooks committed rP495363: Deprecate older llvm toolchain ports..
Deprecate older llvm toolchain ports.
Mar 11 2019, 4:52 PM
brooks updated the diff for D19515: Direct readers to the license policy. Encourage questions..
  • Use "than" where meant.
Mar 11 2019, 4:09 PM

Mar 8 2019

brooks created D19515: Direct readers to the license policy. Encourage questions..
Mar 8 2019, 11:48 PM
brooks committed rP495059: Improve the wording of the notice not to add dependencies on this port..
Improve the wording of the notice not to add dependencies on this port.
Mar 8 2019, 6:07 PM
brooks committed rD52848: Update to GSoC 2019..
Update to GSoC 2019.
Mar 8 2019, 5:49 PM
brooks closed D19505: Update to 2018..
Mar 8 2019, 5:49 PM
brooks updated the diff for D19505: Update to 2018..
  • Link to the ideas list.
Mar 8 2019, 5:18 PM
brooks created D19505: Update to 2018..
Mar 8 2019, 12:50 AM
brooks committed rP495007: Add a meta-port for the default version of LLVM..
Add a meta-port for the default version of LLVM.
Mar 8 2019, 12:41 AM

Mar 7 2019

brooks committed rP495005: Move the list of llvm commands to seperate Makefile.COMMANDS to be used.
Move the list of llvm commands to seperate Makefile.COMMANDS to be used
Mar 7 2019, 11:52 PM
brooks committed rP495004: Update to a more recent shapshot..
Update to a more recent shapshot.
Mar 7 2019, 11:16 PM
brooks committed rS344901: Correct my previous correction to the license. It now matches the text.
Correct my previous correction to the license. It now matches the text
Mar 7 2019, 10:34 PM
brooks committed rS344900: Correct license boilerplate, to match the SPDX tag..
Correct license boilerplate, to match the SPDX tag.
Mar 7 2019, 10:20 PM
brooks committed rP495001: Update to 0.5.0.
Update to 0.5.0
Mar 7 2019, 9:30 PM
brooks accepted D19500: Add endian.h to LHDRS..

LGTM.

Mar 7 2019, 8:50 PM
brooks created D19497: Fix geom with WITHOUT_DYNAMICROOT..
Mar 7 2019, 6:40 PM
brooks committed rP494964: Apply upstream r291939 to fix lambda issues..
Apply upstream r291939 to fix lambda issues.
Mar 7 2019, 5:25 PM

Mar 6 2019

brooks committed rP494843: Update to 8.0.0rc3..
Update to 8.0.0rc3.
Mar 6 2019, 9:29 PM

Mar 2 2019

brooks accepted D19415: Assert that cnp->cn_thread is always curthread.

This seems fine, but I'm not a VFS expert by any means. I think the commit message should indicate why this is being done and what the goal is.

Mar 2 2019, 12:36 AM

Mar 1 2019

brooks accepted D19409: fortuna: Deduplicate kernel vs user includes.

Obvious change verified by eyeball.

Mar 1 2019, 10:08 PM

Feb 28 2019

brooks removed a reviewer for D19261: Import capsicum-test into ^/vendor/google/capsicum-test/dist: Core Team.

However, I'm merely a kibitzer -- maybe there's a policy/tool constraint that requires reproducing the entire repo?

We have examples of both approaches - importing stripped-down copies of the repo, or the entire, unmodified repo. IMO if there's a only small fraction of upstream that we don't need and could remove it's not worth it, but if we need less than half (say) then it makes sense to me to strip it down.
Right now Phab says we'd bring in 633 files, while AFAICT we really only need around 27 .{c,cc,h} files in the top level capsicum-test directory.

Since google test is GPL it would be nice if it wasn't imported. (EDIT: imported here, specifically, the general import is fine.)

Feb 28 2019, 5:12 PM
brooks added a comment to D19261: Import capsicum-test into ^/vendor/google/capsicum-test/dist.

However, I'm merely a kibitzer -- maybe there's a policy/tool constraint that requires reproducing the entire repo?

We have examples of both approaches - importing stripped-down copies of the repo, or the entire, unmodified repo. IMO if there's a only small fraction of upstream that we don't need and could remove it's not worth it, but if we need less than half (say) then it makes sense to me to strip it down.
Right now Phab says we'd bring in 633 files, while AFAICT we really only need around 27 .{c,cc,h} files in the top level capsicum-test directory.

Feb 28 2019, 5:03 PM
brooks updated subscribers of D16868: Add a BUILD_WITH_OPIPEFAIL option to use `bash -o pipefail` as the bmake shell.

Bring in Jilles to comment on the idea of adding an environmental variable to enable pipefail.

Feb 28 2019, 4:13 PM

Feb 27 2019

brooks accepted D16762: Don't delete the source file when installing links on case-insensitive file systems.

Looks good to me.

Feb 27 2019, 10:41 PM
brooks added a comment to D16868: Add a BUILD_WITH_OPIPEFAIL option to use `bash -o pipefail` as the bmake shell.

FreeBSD's sh grew pipefail support in rS344502 so this might be OBE.

Feb 27 2019, 10:37 PM
brooks removed a reviewer for D17320: update and clean postgis (postgresql) and depends ports: Core Team.

Remove core, the herald rule was over broad.

Feb 27 2019, 10:17 PM
brooks accepted D19235: Fix binutils compilation error with Clang 8.

This looks right to me.

Feb 27 2019, 9:00 PM
brooks requested changes to D19386: [new driver] tn40xx: Tehuti networks tn40xx device driver..

Most files lack required license and copyright headers. The few that do have them indicate this is GPL licensed which is generally unacceptable for new drivers. Ideally this driver should be licensed under the 2-line BSD or dual licensed under it and the GPL if that is necessary. The complete list of commonly acceptable licenses can be found at https://www.freebsd.org/internal/software-license.html

Feb 27 2019, 4:54 PM

Feb 26 2019

brooks updated the diff for D19358: Codify use of Apache License 2.0 software..
  • GC an extra word.
Feb 26 2019, 5:00 PM

Feb 25 2019

brooks updated the diff for D19358: Codify use of Apache License 2.0 software..
  • Reword to make clear that Apache approval is per-component.
Feb 25 2019, 10:53 PM
brooks added a parent revision for D19358: Codify use of Apache License 2.0 software.: D19356: Remove text about handling software with GPLv3 upstreams..
Feb 25 2019, 10:13 PM
brooks added a child revision for D19356: Remove text about handling software with GPLv3 upstreams.: D19358: Codify use of Apache License 2.0 software..
Feb 25 2019, 10:13 PM
brooks created D19358: Codify use of Apache License 2.0 software..
Feb 25 2019, 10:10 PM
brooks created D19356: Remove text about handling software with GPLv3 upstreams..
Feb 25 2019, 9:27 PM
brooks committed rP493890: Fix libclangDoc.a installation, install clang-doc80.
Fix libclangDoc.a installation, install clang-doc80
Feb 25 2019, 7:29 PM
brooks closed D19068: devel/llvm70, devel/llvm80: fix libclangDoc.a installation, install clang-doc80.
Feb 25 2019, 7:29 PM · Contributor Reviewers (ports)
brooks accepted D19068: devel/llvm70, devel/llvm80: fix libclangDoc.a installation, install clang-doc80.

Sorry, I had changes in progress when this came in and then life got busy. This one slipped out of my buffer. I'll commit shortly.

Feb 25 2019, 6:20 PM · Contributor Reviewers (ports)

Feb 19 2019

brooks updated subscribers of D19255: Update minimum RAM required for FreeBSD 96MB to 128MB.

I'd be tempted to bump to 192MB since the vast majority of new installs are amd64 per @imp's status.

Feb 19 2019, 10:46 PM

Feb 18 2019

brooks committed rP493328: Don't override the compiler on armv7..
Don't override the compiler on armv7.
Feb 18 2019, 9:53 PM
brooks committed rS344263: MFC r344023:.
MFC r344023:
Feb 18 2019, 6:58 PM
brooks committed rS344262: MFC r344023:.
MFC r344023:
Feb 18 2019, 6:44 PM

Feb 14 2019

brooks committed rP492961: Upgrade to 8.0.0rc2..
Upgrade to 8.0.0rc2.
Feb 14 2019, 11:22 PM

Feb 12 2019

brooks committed rD52815: Committers Guide: Add a section encouraging pre-commit review..
Committers Guide: Add a section encouraging pre-commit review.
Feb 12 2019, 10:49 PM
brooks closed D16730: Committers Guide: Add a section encouraging pre-commit review..
Feb 12 2019, 10:49 PM
brooks updated the diff for D16730: Committers Guide: Add a section encouraging pre-commit review..
  • Fix typo.
Feb 12 2019, 7:00 PM
brooks updated the summary of D16730: Committers Guide: Add a section encouraging pre-commit review..
Feb 12 2019, 7:00 PM
brooks updated the diff for D16730: Committers Guide: Add a section encouraging pre-commit review..
  • Rebase
  • Reduce the scope of these guidelines to cover only head.
Feb 12 2019, 6:51 PM
brooks updated the summary of D16730: Committers Guide: Add a section encouraging pre-commit review..
Feb 12 2019, 6:28 PM

Feb 11 2019

brooks accepted D19147: Reserve next `NT_FREEBSD_FEATURE_CTL` bits.

I'm fine with this as is or with the _ENABLE removed.

Feb 11 2019, 10:24 PM
brooks committed rS344023: mdmfs: Fix many bugs in automatic md(4) creation..
mdmfs: Fix many bugs in automatic md(4) creation.
Feb 11 2019, 9:31 PM
brooks closed D19122: mdmfs: Fix many bugs in automatic md(4) creation..
Feb 11 2019, 9:31 PM
brooks updated the diff for D19122: mdmfs: Fix many bugs in automatic md(4) creation..
  • Remove obsolete and always true assert.
  • Remove pointless close(). fclose() closes the descriptor.
Feb 11 2019, 7:05 PM
brooks updated the summary of D19122: mdmfs: Fix many bugs in automatic md(4) creation..
Feb 11 2019, 7:04 PM
brooks updated the summary of D19122: mdmfs: Fix many bugs in automatic md(4) creation..
Feb 11 2019, 7:02 PM

Feb 8 2019

brooks updated the diff for D19122: mdmfs: Fix many bugs in automatic md(4) creation..
  • Make sure there's at least space for one digit of a unit number.
Feb 8 2019, 10:06 PM
brooks committed rP492463: Fix a misspelling of elif and match all powerpc ARCHs..
Fix a misspelling of elif and match all powerpc ARCHs.
Feb 8 2019, 9:50 PM
brooks created D19122: mdmfs: Fix many bugs in automatic md(4) creation..
Feb 8 2019, 6:13 PM

Feb 7 2019

brooks committed rP492401: Add support for reducing the number of LLVM backends built..
Add support for reducing the number of LLVM backends built.
Feb 7 2019, 11:51 PM
brooks committed rS343884: GC a historical artifact..
GC a historical artifact.
Feb 7 2019, 11:17 PM

Feb 6 2019

brooks added a comment to D18622: Import GoogleTest 1.8.1 into the vendor tree under `^/google/googletest/dist`.

@imp, @brooks you seem to be possible curators of contrib/; does google/googletest/ seem like the right location? Seems sensible to me.

Feb 6 2019, 9:00 PM
brooks committed rP492319: Attempt to work around a problem with binutils not liking the armv6 code.
Attempt to work around a problem with binutils not liking the armv6 code
Feb 6 2019, 7:01 PM

Feb 4 2019

brooks committed rS343756: MFC r343587:.
MFC r343587:
Feb 4 2019, 10:38 PM

Feb 1 2019

brooks accepted D19053: readelf: use table-based DT_FLAGS and DT_FLAGS_1 decoding.

LGTM

Feb 1 2019, 6:18 PM
brooks accepted D19054: readelf: decode FreeBSD note types.

LGTM

Feb 1 2019, 6:15 PM

Jan 31 2019

brooks committed rS343632: Remove iBCS2: also remove xenix syscall function support..
Remove iBCS2: also remove xenix syscall function support.
Jan 31 2019, 11:01 PM
brooks committed rS343630: Regen after r342190..
Regen after r342190.
Jan 31 2019, 10:58 PM

Jan 30 2019

brooks committed rS343597: Regen after r343596: enable ppoll in capability mode..
Regen after r343596: enable ppoll in capability mode.
Jan 30 2019, 11:48 PM
brooks committed rS343596: MFC r340129, r340195, r340198.
MFC r340129, r340195, r340198
Jan 30 2019, 11:47 PM
brooks committed rS343595: MFC r340242:.
MFC r340242:
Jan 30 2019, 11:39 PM