Page MenuHomeFreeBSD

devel/subversion-lts: update port to next LTS version: 1.14.2
ClosedPublic

Authored by michaelo on Oct 24 2023, 11:54 AM.
Tags
None
Referenced Files
Unknown Object (File)
Wed, Apr 10, 9:29 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Wed, Apr 10, 9:28 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Wed, Apr 10, 9:28 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Wed, Apr 10, 9:28 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Wed, Apr 10, 8:41 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Wed, Apr 10, 8:41 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Wed, Apr 10, 8:29 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Mar 14 2024, 8:26 PM
Subscribers
None

Details

Diff Detail

Repository
R11 FreeBSD ports repository
Lint
Lint Skipped
Unit
Tests Skipped
Build Status
Buildable 54186
Build 51076: arc lint + arc unit

Event Timeline

michaelo created this revision.

Notes for reviewers:

  • This is copied from devel/subversion
  • I have intentionally not addressed issues depicted by Poudriere, I want to get off EOL Subversion first
  • The PR has been open for more than two years and maintainer has not been reacting for more almost a year
  • This may require an exp-run

This port is just too complex and complicated for me to do the review thoroughly.

Does it build and run for you without any fallout on 13.x, 14.x and -CURRENT?

In D42348#966316, @otis wrote:

This port is just too complex and complicated for me to do the review thoroughly.

Does it build and run for you without any fallout on 13.x, 14.x and -CURRENT?

I did test on 12-STABLE and 13-STABLE. It does not change conceptionally because it is just a copy of files. I will run the build again on CURRENT.

In D42348#966316, @otis wrote:

This port is just too complex and complicated for me to do the review thoroughly.

Does it build and run for you without any fallout on 13.x, 14.x and -CURRENT?

I did test on 12-STABLE and 13-STABLE. It does not change conceptionally because it is just a copy of files. I will run the build again on CURRENT.

Works for me:

root@deblndw013x3v:/usr/ports
# file /usr/local/bin/svn
/usr/local/bin/svn: ELF 64-bit LSB executable, x86-64, version 1 (FreeBSD), dynamically linked, interpreter /libexec/ld-elf.so.1, for FreeBSD 15.0 (1500002), FreeBSD-style, stripped
root@deblndw013x3v:/usr/ports
# pkg info devel/subversion-lts
subversion-lts-1.14.2
Name           : subversion-lts
Version        : 1.14.2
Installed on   : Tue Oct 24 14:11:50 2023 CEST
Origin         : devel/subversion-lts
Architecture   : FreeBSD:15:amd64
Prefix         : /usr/local
Categories     : devel
Licenses       : APACHE20
Maintainer     : lev@FreeBSD.org
WWW            : https://subversion.apache.org/
Comment        : Version control system, long-term-support version
Options        :
        BDB            : off
        DOCS           : on
        GPG_AGENT      : off
        NLS            : on
        SASL           : off
        SERF           : on
        STATIC         : off
        SVNSERVE_WRAPPER: off
        TEST           : off
        TOOLS          : on
Shared Libs required:
        libutf8proc.so.2
        libsqlite3.so.0
        libserf-1.so.1
        liblz4.so.1
        libintl.so.8
        libexpat.so.1
        libaprutil-1.so.0
        libapr-1.so.0
Shared Libs provided:
        libsvn_wc-1.so.0
        libsvn_subr-1.so.0
        libsvn_repos-1.so.0
        libsvn_ra_svn-1.so.0
        libsvn_ra_serf-1.so.0
        libsvn_ra_local-1.so.0
        libsvn_ra-1.so.0
        libsvn_fs_x-1.so.0
        libsvn_fs_util-1.so.0
        libsvn_fs_fs-1.so.0
        libsvn_fs-1.so.0
        libsvn_diff-1.so.0
        libsvn_delta-1.so.0
        libsvn_client-1.so.0
Annotations    :
        FreeBSD_version: 1500002
        cpe            : cpe:2.3:a:apache:subversion:1.14.2:::::freebsd15:x64
Flat size      : 18.2MiB
Description    :
Subversion is a version control system designed to be as similar to cvs(1)
as possible, while fixing many outstanding problems with cvs(1).

This port contains a LTS release.

on

# uname -a
FreeBSD deblndw013x3v.ad001.siemens.net 15.0-CURRENT FreeBSD 15.0-CURRENT #0 main-n266042-fb7140b1f928: Thu Oct 19 03:02:14 UTC 2023     root@releng3.nyi.freebsd.org:/usr/obj/usr/src/amd64.amd64/sys/GENERIC amd64
This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Oct 24 2023, 12:14 PM

I only have a few minor comments. All the poudriere testport I ran also look good.

UPDATING
8–13

Why do we need an UPDATING entry? What problem will users encounter, and how is this entry helping to work around the problem?

devel/subversion-lts/Makefile
30

(disables SVN integration) made me scratch my head, but maybe it's because I've forgotten too much about SVN. Will this be clear to regular users?

devel/subversion-lts/pkg-descr
4

If you use an indefinite article here, it should be an. For reference, see A or an before acronyms at https://www.scribbr.com/commonly-confused-words/a-vs-an/.

This revision now requires review to proceed.Oct 24 2023, 1:15 PM
michaelo added inline comments.
UPDATING
8–13

They should be aware of because there have been many change in between: https://subversion.apache.org/docs/release-notes/, especially: https://subversion.apache.org/docs/release-notes/1.14.html#compat-misc

devel/subversion-lts/Makefile
30
devel/subversion-lts/pkg-descr
4

Right, I thought the same.

UPDATING
8–13

In that case, we should let users know why there could be a problem. How about something like this?

devel/subversion-lts has been updated from 1.10.x to the latest LTS version, 1.14.x. Some changes between these releases may require attention from administrators or users. Refer to https://subversion.apache.org/docs/release-notes/1.14.html#compat-misc for details.

UPDATING
8–13

In that case, we should let users know why there could be a problem. How about something like this?

devel/subversion-lts has been updated from 1.10.x to the latest LTS version, 1.14.x. Some changes between these releases may require attention from administrators or users. Refer to https://subversion.apache.org/docs/release-notes/1.14.html#compat-misc for details.

Especially when/if there were any breaking/incompatible changes.

michaelo marked 2 inline comments as done.

Address comments

Issues addressed.

This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Oct 27 2023, 1:41 PM

I will add updates to other affected ports as well. antoine@ gave me good pointers. Testing in poudriere now...

Address issues from jrm and antoine

This revision now requires review to proceed.Oct 27 2023, 2:47 PM

Picking up antoine@'s concerns from the Bugzilla issue, I did run now with WITH_SUBVERSION_VER=LTS and WITH_SUBVERSION_VER=114 in poudriere bulk:

% pkg info  | grep -e subversion -e svn
java-subversion-lts-1.14.2     Java bindings for Version control system
mod_dav_svn-lts-1.14.2         Apache module for subversion serving
p5-subversion-lts-1.14.2       Perl bindings for Version control system
py39-subversion-lts-1.14.2     Python bindings for version control system
ruby-subversion-lts-1.14.2     Ruby bindings for version control system
subversion-gnome-keyring-lts-1.14.2 Gnome Keyring integration for Version control system
subversion-lts-1.14.2          Version control system, long-term-support version

% pkg info  | grep -e subversion -e svn
java-subversion-1.14.2         Java bindings for Version control system
mod_dav_svn-1.14.2             Apache module for subversion serving
p5-subversion-1.14.2           Perl bindings for Version control system
py39-subversion-1.14.2_2       Python bindings for version control system
ruby-subversion-1.14.2         Ruby bindings for version control system
subversion-1.14.2_4            Version control system
subversion-gnome-keyring-1.14.2 Gnome Keyring integration for Version control system

Now, all ports are covered. Slave ports and dependent ports.

I will leave this one open for a couple of more days before I merge it.

Looks good for me.

Thank you very much, @michaelo, for picking up this where it dropped from my hands.

Looks like, I'm back again after 1.5 years of moving between countries.

This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Oct 31 2023, 9:14 AM
In D42348#967707, @lev wrote:

Looks good for me.

Thank you very much, @michaelo, for picking up this where it dropped from my hands.

Looks like, I'm back again after 1.5 years of moving between countries.

Glad to see you are alive and well!