Page MenuHomeFreeBSD

Introduce CentOS 6.5 userland
ClosedPublic

Authored by xmj on Sep 17 2014, 5:33 PM.
Tags
None
Referenced Files
Unknown Object (File)
Fri, Feb 23, 4:11 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Fri, Feb 23, 4:00 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Fri, Feb 23, 4:00 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Fri, Feb 23, 4:00 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Fri, Feb 23, 4:00 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Fri, Feb 23, 3:59 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Fri, Feb 23, 3:59 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Fri, Feb 23, 3:59 AM

Details

Summary

First described in Status report Q1/2014, Fedora 10 is old, rusty, broken if not
forbidden as riddled with CVEs.

Patch attached adds CentOS 6.5 Userland,
amends Mk/ files to make working with multiple Linux userlands more easy,
fixes smaller details in ports along the way, and adds software like Skype and Sublime.

FOR NOW I've reverted default to fedora 10. I've also marked the spots in Mk/ where to do that
All so that we'll have an easier time making c6 default.

You can of course test if your stuff works with centos through setting those lines in make.conf

OVERRIDE_LINUX_BASE_PORT=c6
OVERRIDE_LINUX_NONBASE_PORTS=c6
Test Plan

I've tested build of CentOS ports locally through building emulators/linux-c6-meta.

Building f10 is impossible and pointless due to FORBIDDEN-ness.

An exp-run to see what breaks and needs immediate fixing would be good, though.. hopefully unnecessary.

Diff Detail

Repository
rP FreeBSD ports repository
Lint
Lint Skipped
Unit
Tests Skipped

Event Timeline

xmj retitled this revision from to Introduce CentOS 6.5 userland.
xmj updated this object.
xmj edited the test plan for this revision. (Show Details)
xmj added reviewers: portmgr, emulation, rene, bdrewery.
xmj set the repository for this revision to rP FreeBSD ports repository.
xmj added subscribers: koobs, swills.
bapt added a reviewer: bapt.
bapt added a subscriber: bapt.

Looking at infrastructure part I see no reason to block that that sounds reasonable.

I have looked at each ports specifically that is an emulation@ job :)

This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Sep 17 2014, 5:46 PM

Could you reduce the white space changes in Mk/bsd.linux-rpm.mk , it is hard to review right now

Mk/bsd.linux-rpm.mk
140 ↗(On Diff #1657)

This reverts a fix I made

antoine requested changes to this revision.Sep 17 2014, 5:48 PM
antoine added a reviewer: antoine.

please revert the revert of my fix

This revision now requires changes to proceed.Sep 17 2014, 5:48 PM

You can remove all the @exec mkdir -p %D/blah, this is handled by pkg

www/linux-f10-flashplugin11/Makefile
35 ↗(On Diff #1657)

reset prefix is now added in bsd.port.mk, so no longer needed here

www/linux-seamonkey/Makefile.common
24 ↗(On Diff #1657)

Any reason to remove CPE information?

x11-toolkits/linux-f10-gtk2/Makefile
6 ↗(On Diff #1657)

portrevision going backwards and .la files added back?

xmj edited edge metadata.

Revert the revert of antoine's fix

tijl@ spent several weeks to remove all .la files from the tree so it would be nice to not put them back

xmj edited edge metadata.

revert most of www/linux-seamonkey, amend www/linux-{f10,c6}-flashplugin11, fix some category makefiles

revert/kill .la files in x11-toolkits/linux-f10-gtk2 audio/linux-f10-alsa-lib audio/linux-f10-arts audio/linux-c6-alsa-lib audio/linux-c6-arts

revert grouping in devel/linux-f10-devtools

remove google-earth's chown that won't run as user

remove legacy NO_STAGE in x11-toolkits/linux-f10-blt, audio/linux-f10-alsa-plugins-oss and net/linux-f10-nss_ldap

portrevision goes backwards in:

  • audio/linux-f10-alsa-lib
  • audio/linux-f10-arts
  • devel/linux-f10-devtools
  • x11-toolkits/linux-f10-gtk2

portrevision is strange in:

  • devel/linux_kdump

the following ports have pkgname collisions:
audio/linux-f10-nas-libs and audio/linux-c6-nas-libs
audio/linux-f10-pulseaudio-libs and audio/linux-c6-pulseaudio-libs
emulators/linux-f10-meta and emulators/linux-c6-meta
net-im/skype and net-im/skype4

emulators/linux-c6-meta/Makefile
89 ↗(On Diff #1662)

NO_INSTALL=yes

93 ↗(On Diff #1662)

Is this hack really needed?

emulators/linux-f10-meta/Makefile
98 ↗(On Diff #1662)

NO_INSTALL=yes

102 ↗(On Diff #1662)

i don't think this hack is necessary

Fix backwards-going portrevisions
Fix PKGNAME collisions

a bit more:

audio/linux-c6-pulseaudio-utils has linux-f10-pulseaudio-utils-0.9.21 as pkgname
net/linux-c6-tcp_wrappers-libs has linux-f10-tcp_wrappers-libs-7.6 as pkgname

some categories Makefiles are not sorted

About the 2.6.16 -> 2.6.18 transition,
once we switch to 2.6.18 on the package builders we will no longer be able to build f10 packages, right?
so if we have f10 as default in ports/quarterly and c6 as default in ports/head, one of the too will not be able to build its linux packages?

add emulators/linux-c6-meta/Makefile NO_INSTALL=yes and remove package hack
add emulators/linux-f10-meta/Makefile NO_INSTALL=yes and remove package hack (pt 2)

audio/linux-c6-pulseaudio-utils missed USE_LINUX= c6
net/linux-c6-tcp_wrappers-libs missed USE_LINUX= c6

revert .gitignore to portstree default

In D793#35, @antoine wrote:

About the 2.6.16 -> 2.6.18 transition,
once we switch to 2.6.18 on the package builders we will no longer be able to build f10 packages, right?
so if we have f10 as default in ports/quarterly and c6 as default in ports/head, one of the too will not be able to build its linux packages?

I am actually not sure. It'd probably make sense to do the switch around 2014-09-30 (end of Q3/14) just to be sure.

For all intents and purposes: out of the 76 linux-f10- ports, 9 are ignored due to CVEs with 30 skipped because of those nine. Basically half of the Fedora 10 userland is unusable.

antoine edited edge metadata.

Looks good to me, but as the diff is quite large, another pair of eyes is welcome

This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Sep 18 2014, 7:04 AM

The ports shouldn't have "-meta" in their name.

xmj edited edge metadata.
  • rename emulators/linux-{c6,f10}-meta to emulators/linux-{c6,f10}
  • sort (and update) category Makefiles
  • add two forgotten ports to net/ category Makefile
  • remove FORBIDDEN= lines in f10 ports, imported from r368642

I started exp-run for D793 + compat.linux.osrelease=2.6.18 + this in bsd.linux-apps.mk: https://dpaste.de/j252/raw

http://gohan1.ysv.freebsd.org/build.html?mastername=91amd64-default-D793&build=2014-09-20_19h45m19s

and this looks better (linux-c6-* no longer depends on linux-f10-* and vice versa)

mmm there is a problem with the last version of the patch, bsd.port.mk is all broken ...

Update Mk/bsd.port.mk to Revision: 368643

Nice, please commit with this thing you pasted in bsd.linux-apps.mk: https://dpaste.de/j252/raw

  • Add Mk/bsd.linux-apps.mk fixes that allow build of both (!) linux distros
  • Fix various portlint issues submitted by rene@
  • Kill graphics/linux-f10-sdl_ttf/linux-f10-sdl_ttf directory
  • Add UPDATING entry

Proposed commitmessage:

Update CentOS base to 6.5, add userland ports

The Fedora 10 infrastructure ports have been in use since June 2009 and, while
having served a great deed, have become unsupported upstream and hence affected
by unfixed security vulnerabilities. In addition to that, many recent Linux
binaries need newer libc / stdlibc++ versions.

This commit adds the linux-c6- userland as drop-in replacement for the -f10
infrastructure, as well as upgrading the linux_base-c6 port to CentOS 6.5.

If you want to switch to linux-c6 ports, please define at /etc/make.conf:

OVERRIDE_LINUX_BASE_PORT=c6
OVERRIDE_LINUX_NONBASE_PORTS=c6

Additionally, please add the following line to /etc/sysctl.conf:

compat.linux.osrelease=2.6.18

Upgrading procedures are shown in /usr/ports/UPDATING.

This work has been inspired by Artyom Mirgorodskiy's post to emulation@ in
November 2013, using and extending mav@'s work. It has been tested extensively
and most reported issues were already fixed. Please report any additional bug
or "features" to the emulation mailing list.

Many thanks to: mav@, rene@, allanjude@, netchild@, antoine@, everyone who's
filed Issues and Pull requests on GitHub,

PR: 186820
Differential Revision: https://reviews.freebsd.org/D793
Submitted by: me
Reviewed by: allanjude, antoine, bapt, rene
Approved by: portmgr (antoine, bapt)
Approved by: koobs (mentor)
Sponsored by: Perceivon Hosting Inc.

rene edited edge metadata.
koobs edited edge metadata.

LGTM @xmj, well done bringing this together

xmj updated this revision to Diff 1711.

Closed by commit rP368845 (authored by @xmj).