Page MenuHomeFreeBSD

net/intel-ixl-kmod Updated 40 gigabit FreeBSD Base Driver for Intel(R) Network Connections
ClosedPublic

Authored by skozlov on Mar 27 2016, 8:03 PM.

Details

Summary

New port for updated version of Intel(R) ixl driver.

Driver is able to override the one in GENERIC without rebuilding the kernel, please see pkg-message for the details.
Port is made as master to allow easy deployment of other Intel network drivers in the future.
Putting my Intel hat on for this port.

Sponsored by: Intel Corporation

Test Plan

Poudriere log:


Portlint log: see poudriere log

Diff Detail

Repository
rP FreeBSD ports repository
Lint
Automatic diff as part of commit; lint not applicable.
Unit
Automatic diff as part of commit; unit tests not applicable.

Event Timeline

skozlov updated this revision to Diff 14655.Mar 27 2016, 8:03 PM
skozlov retitled this revision from to net/intel-ixl-kmod Updated 40 gigabit FreeBSD Base Driver for Intel(R) Network Connections.
skozlov updated this object.
skozlov edited the test plan for this revision. (Show Details)
skozlov added a reviewer: Intel Networking.
skozlov set the repository for this revision to rP FreeBSD ports repository.
sbruno added a reviewer: gnn.Mar 27 2016, 8:50 PM
sbruno added a subscriber: adrian.

To my not-very-ports-savvy eyes, this looks right. The only thing which threw me was SITE_SUBDIR being defined after it was used to define MASTER_SITES; perhaps re-order them?

gnn edited edge metadata.Mar 29 2016, 12:45 PM

Why does it need to be called kmod? I'd just name it intel-ixl

sbruno added a subscriber: sbruno.Mar 29 2016, 4:00 PM
In D5761#123295, @gnn wrote:

Why does it need to be called kmod? I'd just name it intel-ixl

This is a ports "thing".

I requested this change to fall inline with the other kernel modules in the ports system.

gnn accepted this revision.Mar 29 2016, 4:04 PM
gnn edited edge metadata.

Carry on then!

This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Mar 29 2016, 4:04 PM
sbruno added inline comments.Mar 29 2016, 4:04 PM
net/intel-ixl-kmod/Makefile
26 ↗(On Diff #14655)

Change this variable to "MASTER_SITE_SUBDIR"

Move it to line 9, under MASTER_SITES for clarity.

erj added a subscriber: erj.Mar 29 2016, 4:25 PM

What does this warning in the log mean?

WARN: Consider to set DEVELOPER=yes in /etc/make.conf
In D5761#123330, @erj wrote:

What does this warning in the log mean?

WARN: Consider to set DEVELOPER=yes in /etc/make.conf

That is specifically for testing. If you set DEVELOPER=yes in make.conf then the ports MK system will check things more aggressively for conformance to ports "style".

skozlov updated this revision to Diff 14727.Mar 29 2016, 9:39 PM
skozlov edited edge metadata.

Changed and moved SITE_SUBDIR -> MASTER_SITE_SUBDIR

'portlint -AC' is still happy:

WARN: Makefile: unless this is a master port, PORTNAME has to be set by "=", not by "?=".
WARN: Makefile: unless this is a master port, PORTVERSION has to be set by "=", not by "?=".
WARN: Makefile: unless this is a master port, COMMENT has to be set by "=", not by "?=".
0 fatal errors and 3 warnings found.

This revision now requires review to proceed.Mar 29 2016, 9:39 PM
skozlov marked an inline comment as done.Mar 29 2016, 9:40 PM
In D5761#123330, @erj wrote:

What does this warning in the log mean?

WARN: Consider to set DEVELOPER=yes in /etc/make.conf

That is specifically for testing. If you set DEVELOPER=yes in make.conf then the ports MK system will check things more aggressively for conformance to ports "style".

This warning is inevitable when using poudriere - I have 'DEVELOPER=yes' set in my make.conf. You can see that there's no such warning in my prev comment.

In D5761#123418, @kozlov.sergey.404_gmail.com wrote:

Changed and moved SITE_SUBDIR -> MASTER_SITE_SUBDIR
'portlint -AC' is still happy:
WARN: Makefile: unless this is a master port, PORTNAME has to be set by "=", not by "?=".
WARN: Makefile: unless this is a master port, PORTVERSION has to be set by "=", not by "?=".
WARN: Makefile: unless this is a master port, COMMENT has to be set by "=", not by "?=".
0 fatal errors and 3 warnings found.

Those seem reasonable to change to "=". This is not a slave port.

Those seem reasonable to change to "=". This is not a slave port.

It will be a master port, there are plans to make ports for other drivers. I didn't want to touch this port the time e.g. intel-ix-kmod will be on the review to narrow the scope to one port only.

This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Apr 6 2016, 4:34 PM
rpokala accepted this revision.Apr 6 2016, 8:08 PM
rpokala added a reviewer: rpokala.

To my not-very-ports-savvy eyes, this looks fine now.

sbruno accepted this revision.Apr 11 2016, 4:50 PM
sbruno added a reviewer: portmgr.
sbruno added a reviewer: sbruno.

Need a "LGTM" from portmgr. Then I'll commit it.

skozlov updated this revision to Diff 15220.EditedApr 15 2016, 10:38 AM
skozlov edited edge metadata.

Added previously mistakenly excluded files/pkg-message.in

Portlint is still happy:
WARN: Makefile: unless this is a master port, PORTNAME has to be set by "=", not by "?=".
WARN: Makefile: unless this is a master port, PORTVERSION has to be set by "=", not by "?=".
WARN: Makefile: unless this is a master port, COMMENT has to be set by "=", not by "?=".
0 fatal errors and 3 warnings found.

This revision now requires review to proceed.Apr 15 2016, 10:38 AM
bapt removed a reviewer: portmgr.Apr 19 2016, 7:09 AM
This revision was automatically updated to reflect the committed changes.