Page MenuHomeFreeBSD

gpiokeys: add a basic manual page
ClosedPublic

Authored by avg on Aug 4 2020, 6:22 AM.

Details

Summary

A man page.

Diff Detail

Repository
rS FreeBSD src repository
Lint
Automatic diff as part of commit; lint not applicable.
Unit
Automatic diff as part of commit; unit tests not applicable.

Event Timeline

avg requested review of this revision.Aug 4 2020, 6:22 AM

The man page looks good. Can you check it with "mandoc -Tlint" and textproc/igor and see if they give you any warnings?
Thanks for writing that man page.

I agree with Benedict -- the man page looks very good on first read!

share/man/man4/gpiokeys.4
70 ↗(On Diff #75338)

I expect mandoc -Tlint to complain about an argument to .Nm here.

Thank you for the reviews!
igor was happy, but mandoc complained about the order of cross-references.

avg marked an inline comment as done.Aug 4 2020, 6:58 AM
avg added inline comments.
share/man/man4/gpiokeys.4
70 ↗(On Diff #75338)

Actually, it didn't.
I'll fix this.

avg marked an inline comment as done.

address reviews and complaints from mandoc -Tlint

This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Aug 4 2020, 7:01 AM
0mp added a subscriber: 0mp.

LGTM!

(I was wondering if it would be better to put properties description into a list, but the manual page looks fine as it is now.)

share/man/man4/gpiokeys.4
60 ↗(On Diff #75342)

This sounds weird to me, I think that s/FDT/DTS/ would sound better.

98 ↗(On Diff #75342)

Mhm, I didn't knew we still had this.
It's an old file that might not be accurate anymore and we don't import the dt-bindings files, maybe we should, I've been saying for a long time that they would be useful to reference in a manpage ...

avg marked an inline comment as done.Aug 4 2020, 9:24 AM
avg added inline comments.
share/man/man4/gpiokeys.4
60 ↗(On Diff #75342)

Okay.

98 ↗(On Diff #75342)

I took this from from gpioled(4).
If you can make a suggestion on how to improve this part, please do.
Maybe it is acceptable that this manual page will be improved later.
I did not have a hope of writing a perfect man page since I am very new to this driver and FDT and GPIO.
But I thought that having some page would be a good start and better than nothing.

avg marked an inline comment as done.

s/FDT/DTS/ for clarity

This revision now requires review to proceed.Aug 4 2020, 9:26 AM
manu added inline comments.
share/man/man4/gpiokeys.4
98 ↗(On Diff #75342)

Yeah we can improve later, this is way better that what we currently have :)

This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Aug 4 2020, 9:27 AM
share/man/man4/gpiokeys.4
98 ↗(On Diff #75342)

BTW, that document seems to have a fairly accurate, if a bit vague, description of the gpios property\

I misunderstood the code: "name" property is used to get the node name
if "label" property is not set.

This revision now requires review to proceed.Aug 4 2020, 10:12 AM
This revision was not accepted when it landed; it landed in state Needs Review.Aug 5 2020, 11:38 AM
This revision was automatically updated to reflect the committed changes.