Page MenuHomeFreeBSD

p.bruenn_beckhoff.com (Patrick Brünn)
User

Projects

User does not belong to any projects.

User Details

User Since
Feb 7 2019, 12:48 PM (40 w, 13 h)

Recent Activity

Jun 5 2019

p.bruenn_beckhoff.com added a comment to D20319: stand/zfs: don't fail boot if the first label is broken.

Agreed, a sane vdev_probe() would be nice. But I have totally no idea how you want to omit cleaning up partially initialized spa/vdev objects without rewriting the whole file. Either some of the current error paths are dead code or things like vdev_init_from_nvlist() have to be replaced.

Jun 5 2019, 2:45 PM

Jun 3 2019

p.bruenn_beckhoff.com added a comment to D20319: stand/zfs: don't fail boot if the first label is broken.

Yes, but not for all failures. If a label is found in the loop but later the associated data found invalid the vdev_probe() will fail even if there would be another label with better data.

Jun 3 2019, 8:14 AM

May 20 2019

p.bruenn_beckhoff.com abandoned D20320: linuxkpi: allow M_EXEC flag for __vmalloc().

Okay, then I think I got this interface wrong. To me it looked like linuxkpi was intended to run Linux drivers without modification. That's why I thought upstreaming this patch might be of interessed.
If that's not the case, we will just keep it out of tree on our vendor branch. Converting BBAPI to a real FreeBSD driver would be the best option, but currently that's out of budget.
Thanks a lot for your fast feedback.

May 20 2019, 8:05 PM
p.bruenn_beckhoff.com added a comment to D20320: linuxkpi: allow M_EXEC flag for __vmalloc().

It's just one driver [1] I care about and it could easily be patched, but vmalloc_exec() is not exported for modules in Linux.
Or do you mean to add something like linux_check_m_prot()?

May 20 2019, 10:27 AM
p.bruenn_beckhoff.com added a reviewer for D20320: linuxkpi: allow M_EXEC flag for __vmalloc(): hselasky.
May 20 2019, 12:25 AM
p.bruenn_beckhoff.com created D20320: linuxkpi: allow M_EXEC flag for __vmalloc().
May 20 2019, 12:24 AM

May 19 2019

p.bruenn_beckhoff.com added a reviewer for D20319: stand/zfs: don't fail boot if the first label is broken: allanjude.
May 19 2019, 11:06 PM
p.bruenn_beckhoff.com added reviewers for D20303: release/rc.local: prepare "main menu" for more options: allanjude, nwhitehorn.
May 19 2019, 11:04 PM
p.bruenn_beckhoff.com created D20319: stand/zfs: don't fail boot if the first label is broken.
May 19 2019, 10:58 PM

May 18 2019

p.bruenn_beckhoff.com updated the diff for D20303: release/rc.local: prepare "main menu" for more options.
  • release/rc.local: replace reboot button with menu item
May 18 2019, 7:12 PM
p.bruenn_beckhoff.com created D20303: release/rc.local: prepare "main menu" for more options.
May 18 2019, 3:03 PM