Page MenuHomeFreeBSD

Remove dead code in the cscope target
ClosedPublic

Authored by def on Aug 31 2022, 11:29 AM.
Tags
None
Referenced Files
Unknown Object (File)
Dec 18 2022, 7:25 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Dec 15 2022, 7:45 PM
Unknown Object (File)
Dec 15 2022, 7:45 PM
Subscribers

Details

Summary

arm64 is the only currently supported architecture that has ${MACHINE_CPUARCH} set to a different value (aarch64) than ${MACHINE} (arm64), as described in arch(7). However, there is no source directory associated with arm64 that has a name set to ${MACHINE_CPUARCH}.

Remove the dead code that adds a directory with a name set to ${MACHINE_CPUARCH} to a list of directories indexed with cscope. This change allows to use the cscope target on arm64.

My branch:
https://github.com/kwitaszczyk/freebsd/tree/cscope-arm64

Diff Detail

Repository
rG FreeBSD src repository
Lint
Lint Not Applicable
Unit
Tests Not Applicable

Event Timeline

def requested review of this revision.Aug 31 2022, 11:29 AM
This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Aug 31 2022, 4:10 PM

Hmm, does cscope fail because the directory name doesn't exist? (I confess to always using ALL_ARCH=yes myself)

In D36402#836213, @jhb wrote:

Hmm, does cscope fail because the directory name doesn't exist? (I confess to always using ALL_ARCH=yes myself)

cscope fails because it looks for the aarch64 directory that doesn't exist.

jhb added inline comments.
sys/Makefile
10

FYI, the rest of this file does not use indentation for nested .if's, and in general we do not do that in src Makefiles AFAIK. It also adds a bit of noise to this commit for which the real changes are removing 3 lines.

Remove the style change.

This revision now requires review to proceed.Nov 11 2022, 1:09 PM
sys/Makefile
10

I thought that the .if style change applied to freebsd-src as well. I've seen freebsd-ports doing so.

I removed the style change.

def marked an inline comment as done.Nov 11 2022, 1:10 PM
This revision was not accepted when it landed; it landed in state Needs Review.Nov 11 2022, 3:54 PM
This revision was automatically updated to reflect the committed changes.