Page MenuHomeFreeBSD

Update graphics/exiv2 to 0.25 and switch to using cmake
ClosedPublic

Authored by tcberner on Jul 22 2016, 2:06 PM.

Details

Reviewers
mat
Group Reviewers
multimedia
Commits
rP419170: Update graphics/exiv2 to 0.25.
Summary

graphics/exiv2 is still on 0.24; 0.25 has been released in june 2015.

Also switch to using cmake during build (as it needs less patching), and is
simpler (ymmv).

Diff Detail

Repository
rP FreeBSD ports repository
Lint
Automatic diff as part of commit; lint not applicable.
Unit
Automatic diff as part of commit; unit tests not applicable.

Event Timeline

tcberner updated this revision to Diff 18663.Jul 22 2016, 2:06 PM
tcberner retitled this revision from to Update graphics/exiv2 to 0.25 and switch to using cmake.
tcberner updated this object.
tcberner edited the test plan for this revision. (Show Details)
mat added inline comments.Jul 22 2016, 2:14 PM
graphics/exiv2/Makefile
35–37 ↗(On Diff #18663)

This is USES=pathfix.

tcberner updated this revision to Diff 18664.Jul 22 2016, 2:23 PM

Use pathfix.mk -- I seem to have made an error before :)

mat accepted this revision.Jul 22 2016, 2:34 PM
mat added a reviewer: mat.

Looks good, make sure it builds on 9.3 and 10.1 at least :-)

This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Jul 22 2016, 2:34 PM
kwm added a subscriber: kwm.Jul 22 2016, 4:32 PM

Please be sure all the ports that depend on exiv2 build with the new version. The shlib bump already is a red flag to me.

I ran:

poudriere bulk -j12-current -tC `awk -F '|' '/exiv2-0.24/{print $2}' /usr/ports/INDEX-12 | sed 's|/usr/ports/||g'

Result:

  • graphics/ufraw:build call to 'abs' is ambiguous
  • multimedia/kdenlive:build call to 'abs' is ambiguous
  • deskutils/plasma-applet-playwolf:build call to 'abs' is ambiguous
  • net/knemo-kde4:build member access into incomplete type 'struct in6_ifaddr'
  • graphics/iccexamin:check-plist
  • deskutils/gnome-shell-extension-backslide:checksum
  • net-im/kmess-kde4:build call to 'abs' is ambiguous
  • multimedia/k9copy-kde4:build call to 'abs' is ambiguous
  • www/kpartsplugin:check-plist
  • multimedia/subtitlecomposer-kde4:build call to 'log2' is ambiguous
  • graphics/fotoxx Skipped
  • ports-mgmt/kpackagekit Skipped

There were 10 errors, but none related to the exiv2 update as far as I could see.

rakuco added a subscriber: rakuco.Jul 23 2016, 12:17 PM

I've added some inline comments that are not blockers for landing this.

With that said, since there seem to be quite a few ports depending on this one it's probably a good idea to ask for an exp-run, and also post an updated version of this patch with all the PORTREVISION bumps in the dependent ports.

graphics/exiv2/Makefile
27–31 ↗(On Diff #18664)

Food for thought for another commit: you can replace this whole block with CFLAGS_powerpc64= -mminimal-toc.

34 ↗(On Diff #18664)

Personally I'm not a big fan of these sed calls, they tend to remain in the Makefile long after the things they are patching have been fixed upstream.

This is not a blocker, but I'd rather have a proper patch in files/ replacing dl with ${CMAKE_DL_LIBS} (this is also a good candidate for upstreaming).

tcberner updated this revision to Diff 18698.Jul 23 2016, 2:19 PM
tcberner edited edge metadata.

Handle the -ldl fix via a patch as suggested, and use CFLAGS_<arch>.

This revision now requires review to proceed.Jul 23 2016, 2:19 PM
tcberner marked 2 inline comments as done.Jul 23 2016, 2:19 PM

mark stuff done.

Looks good to me, but please ask for an exp-run and bump PORTREVISION in dependent ports (I usually check the "Libraries" list in the port's FreshPorts entry).

tcberner updated this revision to Diff 18709.Jul 24 2016, 8:36 AM
tcberner edited edge metadata.

Add the portrevision bumps to the ports listed on freshports.org

mat added a comment.Jul 24 2016, 8:45 AM

I ran:

poudriere bulk -j12-current -tC `awk -F '|' '/exiv2-0.24/{print $2}' /usr/ports/INDEX-12 | sed 's|/usr/ports/||g'

There were 10 errors, but none related to the exiv2 update as far as I could see.

Running things on CURRENT is a nice touch, but running bulk on 10.1 or 9.3 would be more interesting, it is what people are using, and where it is most important things build.

Also, using the INDEX is good, but using grep -r graphics/exiv2 /usr/ports is better, there are ports with optional dependencies :-) (I use git for my ports work, and git grep is way faster than grep -r)

This revision was automatically updated to reflect the committed changes.