Page MenuHomeFreeBSD

Update binutils with ARM support
ClosedPublic

Authored by sbruno on Aug 13 2014, 4:45 PM.

Details

Summary

Update of binutils, libiberty definitely needs EXP-RUN

Diff Detail

Repository
rP FreeBSD ports repository
Lint
No Linters Available
Unit
No Unit Test Coverage

Event Timeline

sbruno updated this revision to Diff 1089.Aug 13 2014, 4:45 PM
sbruno retitled this revision from to Update binutils/gnulibiberty to 2.24, pull in ARM support.
sbruno updated this object.
sbruno edited the test plan for this revision. (Show Details)
sbruno added reviewers: imp, rpaulo, bapt, bdrewery.
sbruno added a subscriber: sson.
rpaulo accepted this revision.Aug 13 2014, 9:02 PM
rpaulo edited edge metadata.

Looks good to me, but you should probably wait for others to comment.

This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Aug 13 2014, 9:02 PM
sbruno updated this revision to Diff 1096.Aug 13 2014, 10:41 PM
sbruno edited edge metadata.

I have no idea why I thought I needed to touch gnulibiberty in this changeset. Remove that alltogether

Update binutils only and properly

andreast edited edge metadata.Aug 14 2014, 9:00 PM

Have not much to say about my stuff except two things:

  • the testsuite patch is not really needed. If you want to run the testsuite a few more bits are needed which are not yet committed. I usually run the testsuite to verify my changes. If I run towards zero failures I feel ready to prepare for commit. So the patch itself has had several successful test suite runs.
  • the gas part is still pending here, I need to prepare for binutils review. lack the time :( But long term test is ongoing :)
sbruno retitled this revision from Update binutils/gnulibiberty to 2.24, pull in ARM support to Update binutils with ARM support.Aug 17 2014, 3:29 AM
sbruno edited edge metadata.
sbruno updated this revision to Diff 1276.Aug 29 2014, 1:20 PM

Update to current state of my patch for binutils.

This compiles under QEMU with a little bit of work.

sbruno updated this revision to Diff 1280.Aug 29 2014, 3:57 PM

Update to match what bapt is about to commit. This review will be closed
when his commit hits the tree.

Late night comment....

The gas/Makefile.am|in is stuff is not correct but it does not harm.
See here:

https://sourceware.org/ml/binutils/2014-08/msg00164.html

and here

https://sourceware.org/git/gitweb.cgi?p=binutils-gdb.git;a=commit;h=37186264f39b05906ccb4ea446dbe2cb22b22e77

For now it does not matter. But for binutils-2.25 you can skip everything.

Thanks for bringing this in!
Andreas