Page MenuHomeFreeBSD

status 2023q3: add pf status report
ClosedPublic

Authored by emaste on Jul 20 2023, 1:39 PM.
Tags
None
Referenced Files
F86725222: D41111.id124993.diff
Mon, Jun 24, 3:13 PM
Unknown Object (File)
Sun, Jun 16, 9:48 PM
Unknown Object (File)
Wed, May 29, 2:54 PM
Unknown Object (File)
Tue, May 28, 5:51 AM
Unknown Object (File)
May 21 2024, 2:55 AM
Unknown Object (File)
May 19 2024, 10:00 AM
Unknown Object (File)
May 13 2024, 12:29 AM
Unknown Object (File)
May 10 2024, 5:00 PM

Diff Detail

Repository
R9 FreeBSD doc repository
Lint
Lint Skipped
Unit
Tests Skipped

Event Timeline

kp requested review of this revision.Jul 20 2023, 1:39 PM
emaste added inline comments.
website/content/en/status/report-2023-04-2023-06/pf.adoc
28

Should also include Sponsored by: The FreeBSD Foundation for Naman's work.

website/content/en/status/report-2023-04-2023-06/pf.adoc
3

Maybe add a brief introduction, like

pf is one of the firewalls included in FreeBSD, and is probably the most popular. pf was created by the OpenBSD project and subsequently ported to FreeBSD.

  • add SCTP work
  • review remarks
kp marked 2 inline comments as done.Jul 20 2023, 3:31 PM
website/content/en/status/report-2023-04-2023-06/pf.adoc
45

These should not have the [Dxxxxx] I believe, so that the URL itself is displayed
Right now I think it would render as:

D40911 URL: D40911

while we want

D40911 URL: https://reviews.freebsd.org/D40911

The report needs some work on formatting:

  • please use one sentence per line;
  • please respect the usual sections sorting (see other reports to find many examples): title, links, contacts, body of the reports, sponsors, if any.

Also please consider adding some references to manual pages where appropriate using the man macro, e.g. man pf[4].

website/content/en/status/report-2023-04-2023-06/pf.adoc
45

Please add a pair of empty brackets [] at the end of each second URL, e.g.

link:https://reviews.freebsd.org/D40911[D40911] URL link:https://reviews.freebsd.org/D40911[] +

This revision now requires changes to proceed.Jul 21 2023, 8:47 AM

I'm sorry, I don't have the cycles to learn another markup language.

Spotted some minor nits, but these can be fixed when it's pushed.

website/content/en/status/report-2023-04-2023-06/pf.adoc
31–32

AsciiDoc needs a plus at the end of each sentence that's supposed to form part of the same paragraph, but be listed on one line (unless it's in bullet point form).

41

Also needs a plus here.

47–55

I don't know if it matters, but I think it'd be a good idea to have a space before the plus charracter.

Last line doesn't need the plus character.

emaste updated this revision to Diff 124993.
emaste added a reviewer: kp.

Update markup

Thanks, a few more changes and I think it is ready.

website/content/en/status/report-2023-04-2023-06/pf.adoc
1

Maybe use a capital P: "Pf Improvements"?

20

I suggest using man:pf[4] in the first pf occurrence.

23

s/backport/Backport/

Since "Improvements" has been written with a capital "I", probably it woule be better to also write "Syntax" with a capital "S" for consistency.

26

s/configration/configuration/

28

==== pfsync Protocol Versioning

or

==== Pfsync Protocol Versioning

30

man:pfsync[4]

33

==== pfsync: transport over IPv6

or

==== Pfsync: Transport Over IPv6

Approved, just please remember to fix the typo at commit time.

Thanks @kp and @emaste for the report.

website/content/en/status/report-2023-04-2023-06/pf.adoc
26

Sorry @emaste, you missed this comment.

This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Jul 22 2023, 9:31 AM
This revision was automatically updated to reflect the committed changes.