Page MenuHomeFreeBSD

Reducing the depth of git pull
Needs ReviewPublic

Authored by yklaxds_gmail.com on Jun 15 2023, 11:30 AM.
Tags
None
Referenced Files
Unknown Object (File)
Fri, Feb 16, 6:34 PM
Unknown Object (File)
Wed, Jan 31, 1:26 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Jan 2 2024, 12:56 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Dec 20 2023, 7:25 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Dec 13 2023, 3:31 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Nov 9 2023, 2:08 PM
Unknown Object (File)
Oct 9 2023, 11:33 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Oct 9 2023, 11:33 AM

Details

Reviewers
imp
fernape
delphij
Group Reviewers
Doc Committers
docs
doceng
Summary

Reducing the depth of git pull in ports.

see also https://bugs.freebsd.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=272009

Diff Detail

Repository
R9 FreeBSD doc repository
Lint
Lint Skipped
Unit
Tests Skipped

Event Timeline

yklaxds_gmail.com created this revision.
yklaxds_gmail.com edited the summary of this revision. (Show Details)

I'm not sure about this. This limits the log history to the last commit.
This section starts with the following sentence:

If more control over the ports tree is needed or if local changes need to be maintained, or if running FreeBSD-CURRENT...

I would say having the whole history is important if you want more control or need to keep local changes.

That said, I think that paragraph needs rephrasing. It mentions more than one method to install the ports collection yet it describes only one: the git method.

We should here, or in a different review:

  • Change the sentence If it was not installed during the installation of FreeBSD, use one of the following methods to install it: to If it was not installed during the installation of FreeBSD, use the following method to install it:
  • When doing the git clone, specify something like if you don't need complete control over the ports collection and you don't keep local changes, you can add --depth=1 as shown below

@imp can you please help us with this review?

My take

documentation/content/en/books/handbook/ports/_index.adoc
714–717

Here, I'd add:

If you have your own changes to the ports tree, or need the history for any reason, omit the --depth 1 argument below.
It's faster for most situations,.

This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Jun 16 2023, 11:06 AM

I think we might want to extend this in the future but this is a decent incremental improvement for most users.

documentation/content/en/books/handbook/ports/_index.adoc
714–717

There's some ambiguity so I would clarify the "It" in the second sentence - it could be taken as "omitting the --depth 1 argument is faster for most situations."

Something like

We add --depth 1 to the git command line to clone the tree without obtaining the commit history, which saves time and is acceptable for most users. If you have your own changes to the ports tree, or need the history for any reason, omit the --depth 1 argument below.

yklaxds_gmail.com marked an inline comment as done.
This revision now requires review to proceed.Jul 9 2023, 5:04 AM

@imp @delphij is this review ok with the last changes?