Page MenuHomeFreeBSD

Update Apple descriptions in the handbook.
ClosedPublic

Authored by minsoochoo0122_proton.me on Feb 27 2022, 2:40 PM.
Tags
None
Referenced Files
Unknown Object (File)
Jun 7 2024, 4:14 PM
Unknown Object (File)
May 31 2024, 7:08 PM
Unknown Object (File)
May 31 2024, 1:09 PM
Unknown Object (File)
May 20 2024, 2:36 AM
Unknown Object (File)
May 14 2024, 9:42 PM
Unknown Object (File)
Apr 18 2024, 5:23 PM
Unknown Object (File)
Feb 28 2024, 12:20 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Feb 18 2024, 8:25 AM

Details

Summary

It has been a while since Apple changed their mac operating system's name from 'OS X' to 'macOS'. Also, iOS, iPadOS, watchOS, tvOS, and bridgeOS also use Apple Darwin, which borrowed some components from FreeBSD,

Test Plan

make run-local

Diff Detail

Repository
R9 FreeBSD doc repository
Lint
Lint Not Applicable
Unit
Tests Not Applicable

Event Timeline

I'm not sure I like this change, because without mentioning Mac OS X/macOS (the latter of which should probably be used), there's a lot more information to cover about the links between macOS and the Apple OSS distribution collection which includes XNU (where parts of the code enumerated here come from FreeBSD, because they originally came from BSD out of CSRG), along with the userland and the toolchain, libraries - and it's really not the FreeBSDs responsibility to keep track of all of that.

To add to what I said before, they've gotten pretty good at publishing what they include, if you can make head or tails of their snapshot release style.

Then do you have any suggestion? (like deleting the mention about Apple or simplify that sentence). My original intention was to change only OS X to macOS, but since I found that iOS, iPadOS and others are related to FreeBSD, I think it became a bit complicated.

Will review when the dust settles on whether/what to include.

I think my suggestion is generic enough to give an indication of the amount of code used, without making it appear like a big portion of the code is taken from FreeBSD (which is a pretty common myth).

At some point I'd like to see that list of myths transposed to the advocacy pages of the website, at which point I think we can link to that page from this introduction.

documentation/content/en/books/handbook/introduction/_index.adoc
123

I made a suggestion for it.

minsoochoo0122_proton.me retitled this revision from Change trademarks of Apple products in the first chapter of FreeBSD Handbook. to Update names of Apple products in the introduction chapter of FreeBSD Handbook..Apr 2 2022, 8:27 PM
documentation/content/en/books/handbook/introduction/_index.adoc
123

I'd also use s/http/https/ for all websites that support it. While not a panacea, it has at least the merit of helping make eavesdroppers work (much) harder to know which specific URLs on a given website someone's visiting.

125

What's a FreeBSD shell?

134
minsoochoo0122_proton.me added inline comments.
documentation/content/en/books/handbook/introduction/_index.adoc
125

I think this should be deleted.

134

You don't need to add 's' here, but 'console' needs 's'.

This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Apr 3 2022, 3:00 AM

When can this be committed to the doc repository?

Changing HTTP links to HTTPS links is moved to here

This revision now requires review to proceed.Oct 29 2022, 2:00 AM
minsoochoo0122_proton.me retitled this revision from Update names of Apple products in the introduction chapter of FreeBSD Handbook. to Update Apple descriptions in the handbook..Oct 29 2022, 2:02 AM

I can commit this when doc slush is over (should be soon).

This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Oct 29 2022, 4:18 AM
In D34385#844520, @pauamma wrote:

I can commit this when doc slush is over (should be soon).

You can go ahead and commit it at your convenience. The doc tree has been tagged for 12.4-RELEASE.

In D34385#845057, @gjb wrote:
In D34385#844520, @pauamma wrote:

I can commit this when doc slush is over (should be soon).

You can go ahead and commit it at your convenience. The doc tree has been tagged for 12.4-RELEASE.

Taking that as (implicit) mentor approval.

In D34385#845102, @pauamma wrote:
In D34385#845057, @gjb wrote:
In D34385#844520, @pauamma wrote:

I can commit this when doc slush is over (should be soon).

You can go ahead and commit it at your convenience. The doc tree has been tagged for 12.4-RELEASE.

Taking that as (implicit) mentor approval.

Well, explicit approval, but yes. Apologies for not being more clear.

@fel1x, are the name and email on your Phabricator profile the ones you want recorded as the author of this patch? If now, what do you want to be recorded as?

In D34385#845104, @pauamma wrote:

@fel1x, are the name and email on your Phabricator profile the ones you want recorded as the author of this patch? If now, what do you want to be recorded as?

Minsoo Choo <minsoochoo0122@proton.me>
Please use this email address. Thank you.