Page MenuHomeFreeBSD

Replace e2fsprogs libblkid and libuuid by util-linux implementations
AbandonedPublic

Authored by bapt on Jan 22 2020, 9:10 AM.

Details

Reviewers
mandree
yuri
Group Reviewers
portmgr
Summary

In the linux world, but also in pkgsrc, the libuuid and libblkid implementation
used by e2fsprogs, but in the case of libuuid also used by any other programs
do come from util-linux (where they are actively maintained) and not from e2fsprogs.

Follow their path and use the same source.

In the process of updating libuuid the uuid daemon has been lost, the upstream
implementation now uses linux only interfaces (signalfd which makes it incompatible
with FreeBSD). So far no investigation has been made to port it to FreeBSD

Adapt the e2fsprogs port to make use of the new libuuid and libbklid.

The investigation has been made on the following sources:

  • archlinux
  • debian
  • fedora
  • gentoo
  • pkgsrc

Note that so far only OpenBSD and FreeBSD are using e2fsprogs-libuuid

Diff Detail

Repository
rP FreeBSD ports repository
Lint
No Linters Available
Unit
No Unit Test Coverage
Build Status
Buildable 28928
Build 26918: arc lint + arc unit

Event Timeline

bapt created this revision.Jan 22 2020, 9:10 AM
yuri accepted this revision.Jan 22 2020, 9:26 AM
This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Jan 22 2020, 9:26 AM
mandree requested changes to this revision.Jan 22 2020, 5:13 PM

I don't see the libuuid/libblkid versions referenced here. They need to be included either as patches, or by a revision-proof reference.

This revision now requires changes to proceed.Jan 22 2020, 5:13 PM
bapt added a comment.Jan 22 2020, 6:35 PM

I don't see the libuuid/libblkid versions referenced here. They need to be included either as patches, or by a revision-proof reference.

Sorry byt I don't understand what you mean by version referenced here? this is libuuid 2.34 as stated by the PORTVERSION

mandree added a comment.EditedJan 26 2020, 11:31 AM
In D23312#511187, @bapt wrote:

I don't see the libuuid/libblkid versions referenced here. They need to be included either as patches, or by a revision-proof reference.

Sorry byt I don't understand what you mean by version referenced here? this is libuuid 2.34 as stated by the PORTVERSION

@bapt, what I was trying to say is: I don't see the referenced misc/libuuid and possibly misc/libblkid ports. They have not yet been commited, nor are they part of this reviews diff D23312 (possibly the diff command line wasn't including "-N" to include new files), nor are there any non-obsoleted attachments to https://bugs.freebsd.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=221293 - so I don't know what I could review against, and committing the raw D23312 diff I can download here would very obviously break the tree because it adds nonexisting SUBDIR+= lines to ports/misc/Makefile.

Please someone add the intended misc/libuuid and possibly misc/libblkid ports to this review, or to a PR and include the exact URL of the attachment, or to a new reviews.f.o or bugzilla.f.o item that we can reference as a requisite.

$ diffstat <D23312.diff | grep misc
 misc/Makefile                        |    4 ++--
 misc/ignition-fuel-tools/Makefile    |    4 ++--
bapt updated this revision to Diff 67322.Jan 26 2020, 4:11 PM

Actually add libuuid and libbklid

bapt abandoned this revision.Jan 26 2020, 4:32 PM

I don't have enough time to spend on this, neither time to argue to explain why or not this change is good. Feel free to take over, continue or give up on this.

Yuri, please change the libuuid/libblkid ports such that it

  1. installs uuidgen
  2. does not break downstream builds that might include the _types.h files directly.
yuri added a comment.Jan 26 2020, 6:39 PM

Baptiste took over and updated the patch with his patch. I think he should update it further. -)

In D23312#512494, @yuri wrote:

Baptiste took over and updated the patch with his patch. I think he should update it further. -)

Try and convince him - until then, you are the proponent and are responsible because in the current shape I will not consent to removal of the features (uuidgen), and as mat@ and I have pointed out earlier, the change is weakly motivated - and the claim the libs were unmaintained inside e2fsprogs is unproven so far, and e2fsprogs is maintained.

So either you get things into an acceptable shape, or you prove with facts why AND HOW util-linux's libuuid/libblk are better, or we bury this approach.