Page MenuHomeFreeBSD

Update awk(1) manual to accurately describe regex syntax.
ClosedPublic

Authored by dteske on Oct 28 2018, 6:15 PM.

Details

Summary

Update awk(1) to state an exception to egrep(1)-like RE syntax

Diff Detail

Repository
rS FreeBSD src repository
Lint
Automatic diff as part of commit; lint not applicable.
Unit
Automatic diff as part of commit; unit tests not applicable.

Event Timeline

dteske created this revision.Oct 28 2018, 6:15 PM
dteske added a reviewer: bapt.Oct 28 2018, 6:20 PM
jmg accepted this revision.Oct 28 2018, 6:29 PM

looks good! Thanks!

This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Oct 28 2018, 6:29 PM
jmg added a comment.Oct 28 2018, 6:29 PM

oh, don't forget to bump date!

In D17739#379046, @jmg wrote:

oh, don't forget to bump date!

There's no date to bump?

imp added a comment.Oct 29 2018, 10:13 PM
In D17739#379046, @jmg wrote:

oh, don't forget to bump date!

There's no date to bump?

Add one :)

imp accepted this revision.Oct 29 2018, 10:15 PM

Looks good to me...

Not sure about the \f syntax, but other places use it...

In D17739#379439, @imp wrote:

Looks good to me...
Not sure about the \f syntax, but other places use it...

Yeah, this is easily the strangest manual I've ever edited. A straight 10 on the strange-o-meter.

In D17739#379438, @imp wrote:
In D17739#379046, @jmg wrote:

oh, don't forget to bump date!

There's no date to bump?

Add one :)

This manual is not written in standard mdoc from what I can see. It's like it was written by martians.

It doesn't have any of the normal anchors I am familiar with.

I'll just shoehorn a date in here somewhere and hope it works. If it does, I'll hoist it up for review.

In D17739#379438, @imp wrote:
In D17739#379046, @jmg wrote:

oh, don't forget to bump date!

There's no date to bump?

Add one :)

This manual is not written in standard mdoc from what I can see. It's like it was written by martians.
It doesn't have any of the normal anchors I am familiar with.
I'll just shoehorn a date in here somewhere and hope it works. If it does, I'll hoist it up for review.

.Dd is not working. It either has no effect or it destroys the formatting of the entire manual.

No idea how to add a date to this oddly written manual

If no additional comments, I'll move ahead without adding the date (which I could not figure out how to add)

This revision was automatically updated to reflect the committed changes.