Page MenuHomeFreeBSD

Format etc/motd
AbandonedPublic

Authored by chris_bsdjunk.com on Sep 7 2015, 10:59 AM.
Tags
None
Referenced Files
Unknown Object (File)
Sun, May 26, 11:24 AM
Unknown Object (File)
May 14 2024, 3:55 PM
Unknown Object (File)
May 14 2024, 3:26 PM
Unknown Object (File)
Apr 13 2024, 2:57 PM
Unknown Object (File)
Apr 12 2024, 7:46 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Apr 12 2024, 5:45 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Apr 12 2024, 5:44 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Apr 8 2024, 5:57 PM
Subscribers

Details

Reviewers
None
Group Reviewers
Contributor Reviews (src)
Summary

etc/motd looks all nice and dandy until you get to the list. I would look better if we make the link equal to the others or find a way to do so current patch "works" but would break the 80col console standard. But knowing most users would want to use KMS/framebuffer kernel i don't think this really matter or would matter? Does make the motd look nice and formated.

Diff Detail

Repository
rD FreeBSD doc repository - subversion
Lint
Lint Skipped
Unit
Tests Skipped

Event Timeline

chris_bsdjunk.com retitled this revision from to Format etc/motd.
chris_bsdjunk.com updated this object.
chris_bsdjunk.com edited the test plan for this revision. (Show Details)
chris_bsdjunk.com set the repository for this revision to rD FreeBSD doc repository - subversion.
chris_bsdjunk.com edited edge metadata.
chris_bsdjunk.com removed rD FreeBSD doc repository - subversion as the repository for this revision.

Simplify patch just add a few spaces to the lists link

Also makes no sense to add in "FreeBSD *" and then for the list not have it. Changing it to FreeBSD List would allow my patch "work" and make it perdy.

chris_bsdjunk.com set the repository for this revision to rD FreeBSD doc repository - subversion.

Remove indications of https:// the site will auto goto https:// only if this is to indicate the site is secure? Also testing this on gnome/xfce terminal the www.* are still linkable. This will now allow the first patch to be below the 80char limit.

wblock added inline comments.
etc/motd
5

Using full URLs clearly identifies what these links are and allows smart terminal programs to automatically make them into links.

9

This line cannot be indented because it forces wrapping on an 80-column screen.

21

The "please" makes this look like a request to the reader to modify MOTD, rather than just a pointer to where the message is located. This line could probably be removed entirely. The question of where and how to modify MOTD is probably not as relevant today as it was when this line was added.

Using the links in lynx, w3m, links will work with just www. no need for https://. Clicking on a link using most terminals such as xfce, gnome will still click and goto the www. no need for https://. Most browsers these days don't even show the http:// on the url bar. which kinda makes your point irrelevant. Also removing the https:// allows the last line to be indented and properly formatted like the rest.

Using the links in lynx, w3m, links will work with just www. no need for https://. Clicking on a link using most terminals such as xfce, gnome will still click and goto the www. no need for https://. Most browsers these days don't even show the http:// on the url bar. which kinda makes your point irrelevant. Also removing the https:// allows the last line to be indented and properly formatted like the rest.

As an alternate way to do that, I would rather add a shorter URL for the -questions mailing list, like https://questions.FreeBSD.org. That could be aligned with the other columns, but would not leave out the identifying https://.

This is the same as saying "please contact us for any furthers issues you may have.." would it not? its basically being polite

This is the same as saying "please contact us for any furthers issues you may have.." would it not? its basically being polite

"Please edit" looks like the reader is being asked to edit the file.

The whole sentence could be rearranged to be less ambiguous. The reason it is there at all is probably because people do not want to see this screen of stuff when they log in. So:

This login announcement can be edited in /etc/motd.

lets just add in a ascii groff and call it a day.

Reply to Edits

etc/motd
5

Most terminals are smart enough to do that without the https:// though?

9

What about something along the lines of:
Questions: <tab>https://lists.FreeBSD.org/mailman/listinfo/freebsd-questions ? this way it all aligns correctly ?

21

I guess that makes sense, yes

Could we try and rework this a bit or does everyone feel it doesn't need to be changed?

Could we try and rework this a bit or does everyone feel it doesn't need to be changed?

I think the motd line could be dropped entirely. But I prefer having the URI schemes.