Page MenuHomeFreeBSD

misc/zoneinfo: install zone1970.tab and other fixes
ClosedPublic

Authored by andrew_tao173.riddles.org.uk on Jul 17 2019, 11:12 PM.

Details

Summary

This is a first draft; probably needs some more cleanup.

  1. Install zone1970.tab in addition to zone.tab.
  1. The old logic to remove countries from zone.tab doesn't port to zone1970.tab since some lines might have to be patched more than once. Replace it with some awk.
  1. remove LEAPFILE reference that wasn't being set anyway
  1. Fix plist entry for Etc/UCT, which is (since 2019a) part of "backward" and not present otherwise
  1. Make BACKWARD not be the default, since (a) it's not the base system's default and (b) that stuff is all deprecated
  1. Some misc. tweaks

Diff Detail

Repository
rP FreeBSD ports repository
Lint
Automatic diff as part of commit; lint not applicable.
Unit
Automatic diff as part of commit; unit tests not applicable.

Event Timeline

tmunro added a subscriber: tmunro.Jul 17 2019, 11:17 PM
philip accepted this revision.Jul 17 2019, 11:40 PM
philip added reviewers: philip, skreuzer.

This looks good to me.

tmunro accepted this revision.Jul 18 2019, 12:08 AM

Tested, the bad code removal works as described. +1 for getting rid of the BACKWARD zones by default, to match base. LGTM.

Update PORTREVISION which I forgot before.

Disuse the VAR!= makefile construct (which is discouraged in ports for good reasons) in favour of generating the bad codes list inside the post-patch target (it is not needed anywhere else). This is really the only change significant enough to justify posting a new diff.

Update comment about check-plist to include a reminder to check both with and without BACKWARD (this would have caught the existing plist error)

Remove no-longer-needed include of bsd.port.pre.mk.

This is my final version unless someone spots a problem with it.

philip accepted this revision.Jul 18 2019, 3:49 PM

This looks good. Thanks in particular for updating the comments too. That kind of diligence is very much appreciated.

Note that skreuzer@ is the port maintainer so he has final say. I hope he agrees this is good work. :-)

skreuzer accepted this revision.Jul 21 2019, 6:42 PM

This Looks good to me. Please feel free to commit. Thanks!

This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Jul 21 2019, 6:42 PM

Philip: are you taking it, or should I find someone else? (I'm not a committer and as far as I know tmunro is only a src committer)

Ugh. Hold off on committing, please; there's one more issue to fix.

src committers can commit to ports as "guests" provided they include an "Approved by:" line. tmunro has approval from skreuzer.

Apologies for needing another review round. Changes:

  1. Base system tzcode deviates from upstream tzcode by using "UTC" rather than "GMT" as a fallback default name in a couple of places. To make this work, base system zoneinfo also differs from upstream tzdata in that the "etcetera" file unconditionally installs "UTC" as a link from "Etc/UTC" (whereas upstream tzdata does this for "GMT" instead).

The port previously did not install this link unless BACKWARD was in effect; but since that's now not the default, and it's also not the base system default, include the same patch that the base system has to install the "UTC" link. Otherwise, we'd be incompatible with the base system version in unexpected ways. (For compatibility, install the "GMT" link as well even though base does not, since the port previously did this.)

Remaining changes are mostly cosmetic:

  1. Fix location and name of iso3166 file in comments in zone1970.tab, also to match base system
  1. Add back a test-pkgplist target, because it turns out check-plist is not strict enough to handle the case of moving entries into or out of the "backward" set; check-plist doesn't error if a file is present in STAGEDIR but is commented out in the plist, but we want that to be noticed.
This revision now requires review to proceed.Jul 23 2019, 5:50 AM
philip accepted this revision.Jul 30 2019, 9:21 AM

Looks good to me. Thank you for these updates!

This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Jul 30 2019, 9:21 AM
tmunro accepted this revision.Aug 19 2019, 1:27 AM

Thanks for the reminder. I will commit this later today.

This revision was automatically updated to reflect the committed changes.