Page MenuHomeFreeBSD

Use GitHub to build lang/erlang* ports
ClosedPublic

Authored by olgeni on Mar 16 2019, 11:17 AM.

Details

Summary

Right now, updating any of the Erlang ports requires generating patches manually from the git repo, hosting them somewhere, and hosting the prebuilt BEAM files without which the build can fail in mysterious and unexpected ways.

By removing all hosted files, lang/erlang will behave like a "normal" port at last. Also, the big Wx configure patches can go away.

Casualties: erlang-wx is no longer able to build demo.erl, but that's really minor.

Diff Detail

Repository
rP FreeBSD ports repository
Lint
Automatic diff as part of commit; lint not applicable.
Unit
Automatic diff as part of commit; unit tests not applicable.

Event Timeline

olgeni added reviewers: jrm, feld, dch.
olgeni added a reviewer: swills.

The comments apply to the three Makefiles.

lang/erlang-java/Makefile
26 ↗(On Diff #55136)

Remove, default.

28 ↗(On Diff #55136)
DISTVERSIONPREFIX= OTP-
32 ↗(On Diff #55136)

Remove, default. (There should be a warning telling you so.)

Misc. port fixes plus upgrade to 19.3.6.13.

Fix typo (pre-configure-{MX->WX}-off).

Working on a few more fixes..

Moved all WX-dependent applications to lang/erlang-wx, plus more small fixes.

dch requested changes to this revision.Mar 26 2019, 7:48 AM

minor tweaks to download sites.

Also, I suggest we bump to 20.3.8.20 (latest I could find) already when committing this.

lang/erlang-java/Makefile
9 ↗(On Diff #55161)

neither of the additional MASTER_SITES actually have a www site anymore. Let's drop them.

10 ↗(On Diff #55161)

likewise

37 ↗(On Diff #55161)

shouldn't this be --without-wx

lang/erlang-wx/Makefile
9 ↗(On Diff #55161)

drop

10 ↗(On Diff #55161)

drop

lang/erlang/Makefile
10 ↗(On Diff #55161)

drop

11 ↗(On Diff #55161)

drop

43 ↗(On Diff #55161)

can we add a note that from 22 onwards HIPE should be removed from defaults due to lacking support for all opcodes?

This revision now requires changes to proceed.Mar 26 2019, 7:48 AM
olgeni marked 9 inline comments as done.

Added all the relevant fixes.

I would like to proceed like this:

  • Switch everything to GitHub (runtimes too)
  • Split erlang-man to get rid of the extra distfile here
  • Upgrade the port to either 20 or 21
  • Start deprecating lots of Erlang/Elixir library ports, like it was done for golang (same issues here)

Does it sound ok?

lang/erlang/Makefile
10 ↗(On Diff #55161)

We need to keep erlang.org for a bit more until I split erlang-man out of the port, then it can be dropped.

43 ↗(On Diff #55161)

Sure - I just saw it in the 22rc1 relnotes.

lang/erlang/Makefile
43 ↗(On Diff #55161)

Afterthought - would this affect dialyzer?

ship it - I think hipe and dialyzer will need some care for 22 but we don’t have to fix it right now.

This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Mar 27 2019, 8:15 PM
lang/erlang-java/Makefile
16 ↗(On Diff #55453)

You should remove ${LOCALBASE}/bin/ here and in all other DEPENDS lines.

23 ↗(On Diff #55453)

This should be the line after USE_GITHUB. (goes for all other ports too.)

This revision now requires review to proceed.Apr 1 2019, 3:41 PM
This revision was not accepted when it landed; it landed in state Needs Review.Apr 10 2019, 10:23 AM
This revision was automatically updated to reflect the committed changes.