Page MenuHomeFreeBSD

Summary: Change to buildbot 0.9.5
ClosedPublic

Authored by grembo on Mar 28 2017, 9:44 AM.

Diff Detail

Repository
rP FreeBSD ports repository
Lint
Automatic diff as part of commit; lint not applicable.
Unit
Automatic diff as part of commit; unit tests not applicable.

Event Timeline

rodrigc created this revision.Mar 28 2017, 9:44 AM
grembo requested changes to this revision.Mar 28 2017, 2:12 PM

Thanks for opening this, much appreciated. I started working on this in parallel and there are a few more changes to it (running unit tests showed more dependencies that are missing - maybe only for the test target, but unclear at this point). Once I figured out all the details I'll commit the updated versions, until then it's probably best if you abandon this review.

This revision now requires changes to proceed.Mar 28 2017, 2:12 PM
mat added a comment.Mar 28 2017, 2:39 PM

Before any work on buildbot-worker can get in the tree, it needs to be removed and added back properly.

In D10162#210106, @mat wrote:

Before any work on buildbot-worker can get in the tree, it needs to be removed and added back properly.

Can you please give me a hint what needs to change? I tried to follow these instructions to rename it (as it used to be buildbot-slave in the past):
https://www.freebsd.org/doc/en/articles/committers-guide/ports.html#ports-qa-repocopies

mat added a comment.Mar 28 2017, 2:59 PM

You missed the third step which tells you to do "svn move" (or "svn copy", but here it is svn move.)

As it is too late, because buildbot-slave is gone, it is going to be a bit more complicated, a bit of a mix from the copy and the resurection. What you're going to need to do is:

  • copy the current buildbot-worker directory somewhere
  • svn rm buildbot-worker
  • svn commit (this will break INDEX and ports that have a dependency on it, but you're fixing it in the next commit, so, it's "ok")
  • svn cp 'svn+ssh://repo.freebsd.org/ports/head/devel/buildbot-slave/@437058' buildbot-worker
  • pull back the changes from buildbot-slave to buildbot-worker.
  • svn commit (this will unbreak INDEX and all)
In D10162#210112, @mat wrote:

You missed the third step which tells you to do "svn move" (or "svn copy", but here it is svn move.)
As it is too late, because buildbot-slave is gone, it is going to be a bit more complicated, a bit of a mix from the copy and the resurection. What you're going to need to do is:

  • copy the current buildbot-worker directory somewhere
  • svn rm buildbot-worker
  • svn commit (this will break INDEX and ports that have a dependency on it, but you're fixing it in the next commit, so, it's "ok")
  • svn cp 'svn+ssh://repo.freebsd.org/ports/head/devel/buildbot-slave/@437058' buildbot-worker
  • pull back the changes from buildbot-slave to buildbot-worker.
  • svn commit (this will unbreak INDEX and all)

Thank you very much for the detailed instructions. I thought I did svn move while renaming, but apparently it was already added to svn and unfortunately my subversion instincts (if I ever had any) didn't kick in.

svn log buildbot-worker looks good now, but maybe you could double check just to make sure everything is ok now. Thanks again for your help.

grembo added a comment.EditedMar 28 2017, 8:24 PM

@rodrigc This commit breaks most of the unit tests:

commit dc8824e60d005f312693c077369be16bab75eace
Author: Craig Rodrigues <rodrigc@FreeBSD.org>
Date:   Wed Feb 15 02:11:43 2017 -0800

    Replace platform.linux_distribution() with distro.linux_distribution().
    
    platform.linux_distribution() is deprecated in Python 3.

diff --git a/master/setup.py b/master/setup.py
index b614299..c4adce6 100755
--- a/master/setup.py
+++ b/master/setup.py
@@ -444,6 +444,7 @@ setup_args['install_requires'] = [
     'txaio ' + txaio_ver,
     'autobahn ' + autobahn_ver,
     'PyJWT',
+    'distro'
 ]
 
 # Unit test dependencies.

AFAIK there is no distro package available for FreeBSD (as it's Linux only). I opened a pull request upstream:
https://github.com/buildbot/buildbot/pull/3087

Also, the package on pypi lacks secrets/providers (the subdirectory is simply missing) which breaks additional tests (and probably will lead to runtime errors as well).

I opened an issue on github, as I'm not sure how these packages are created:
https://github.com/buildbot/buildbot/issues/3086

I'll patch around those problems in the ports tree for the moment, but the solutions should happen upstream.

grembo edited reviewers, added: rodrigc; removed: grembo.Mar 28 2017, 10:15 PM
grembo commandeered this revision.

As the patch gets quite complicated and I would like to reference this review in the commit, I'll take over the revision and update the diff.

grembo updated this revision to Diff 26742.Mar 28 2017, 10:30 PM

Update to 0.9.5, including missing files and fixing pending upstream.
Use PORTVERSION in dependencies (as all parts of buildbot need
to get updated at the same time.

This revision was automatically updated to reflect the committed changes.