Page MenuHomeFreeBSD
Feed Advanced Search

Mon, Oct 7

marc.priggemeyer_gmail.com added a comment to D16698: First draft HID over I2C support (Mouse only).

Thanks for the remarks. I'd suggest to stop riding a dead horse and make the switch altogether. It has been pointed out previously that the separation of ACPI and HID over I2C code like it was done here, especially the interrupt handling, was ill-conceived.
Abstraction of HID code was initially considered, but not implemented on my part. Since wulf has already done these things and even has the multitouch part working, switching over is the most sensible thing. This code here was intended to be a first draft and has served its purpose.

Mon, Oct 7, 6:16 PM · Contributor Reviews (base)

Jul 16 2019

marc.priggemeyer_gmail.com added a comment to D16698: First draft HID over I2C support (Mouse only).

Many thanks for your efforts! My laptop: Asus Zenbook 14 UX410UFR with 12.0-RELEASE. After kldload ig4 iic acpi_iichid the device works after being probed with i2c -v -s -f /dev/iic1 (thanks fbsd_opal.com). My /var/log/messages:

Jul 16 2019, 3:17 PM · Contributor Reviews (base)

Jul 8 2019

marc.priggemeyer_gmail.com added a comment to D16698: First draft HID over I2C support (Mouse only).

I reuploaded the full patch with a sysctl (power_state) added.
Setting

Jul 8 2019, 9:07 PM · Contributor Reviews (base)

Jul 6 2019

marc.priggemeyer_gmail.com added a comment to D16698: First draft HID over I2C support (Mouse only).

Hmm, I think I did not intend to create a new diff. Should I reupload, or can it be merged?

Jul 6 2019, 10:06 PM · Contributor Reviews (base)
marc.priggemeyer_gmail.com updated the diff for D16698: First draft HID over I2C support (Mouse only).
Jul 6 2019, 9:55 PM · Contributor Reviews (base)
marc.priggemeyer_gmail.com added a comment to D16698: First draft HID over I2C support (Mouse only).

Do you have a license header for iichid.c?

Jul 6 2019, 9:38 PM · Contributor Reviews (base)
marc.priggemeyer_gmail.com added a comment to D16698: First draft HID over I2C support (Mouse only).

#1

The acpi_iichid driver needs to be rewritten. It should be a child of the iic bus, not the acpi bus. I've started working on this.

Jul 6 2019, 7:37 PM · Contributor Reviews (base)

May 7 2019

marc.priggemeyer_gmail.com added a comment to D16698: First draft HID over I2C support (Mouse only).

Can someone summarize what's left or preventing this from being committed?

May 7 2019, 2:26 PM · Contributor Reviews (base)

Nov 4 2018

marc.priggemeyer_gmail.com created D17836: print/latex-biber version bump.
Nov 4 2018, 2:20 PM

Oct 14 2018

marc.priggemeyer_gmail.com added a comment to D16698: First draft HID over I2C support (Mouse only).

...
I haven't spent any significant amount of time looking at the diff yet, but I'll take a stab at answering these.
...

Oct 14 2018, 5:30 PM · Contributor Reviews (base)

Oct 13 2018

marc.priggemeyer_gmail.com updated the summary of D16698: First draft HID over I2C support (Mouse only).
Oct 13 2018, 3:22 PM · Contributor Reviews (base)

Oct 12 2018

marc.priggemeyer_gmail.com added a comment to D16698: First draft HID over I2C support (Mouse only).

I got some open questions that someone actually reviewing this code or just stumbling by might be able to answer:

  1. is PI_TTY the preferred thread priority, or should it be something else?
  2. I read locking(9), mutex(9), bus_setup_intr(9) and a paper on locking mechanisms in FreeBSD and think that I got a fair idea about the basic principles, but I think I still didn't get a grasp on when sleeping is allowed when using an interrupt routine. From what I understand, I almost always need to create a task queue due to the fact that almost all bus implementations call mtx_sleep at some point. Is that correct? Then again I think I saw some modules calling bus operations (that possibly call mtx_sleep) during interrupt handling directly from the associated ithread routine. Are they doing it wrong?
  3. If I use a task queue to handle interrupts and retrieve data from a device and that retrieval method goes to sleep eventually. From my understanding I should release my locks before and reacquire them after the bus operation. What is the preferred method to prevent another thread trying to detach the sleeping module? Possible solutions I figured that might be applicable are flag and condition variable or nested mutex. But what is the right way to do it, or is it even unnecessary because some internal mechanism prevents detaching (device busy msg)?

Thanks for your help.

Oct 12 2018, 8:38 PM · Contributor Reviews (base)
marc.priggemeyer_gmail.com updated the summary of D16698: First draft HID over I2C support (Mouse only).
Oct 12 2018, 8:17 PM · Contributor Reviews (base)
marc.priggemeyer_gmail.com updated the diff for D16698: First draft HID over I2C support (Mouse only).

I just uploaded a new diff that lacks the changes to usb. iichid for now depends on usb but should be easier to test.

Oct 12 2018, 8:02 PM · Contributor Reviews (base)

Oct 10 2018

marc.priggemeyer_gmail.com added a comment to D16698: First draft HID over I2C support (Mouse only).

Hmmm. Does my ACPI table not _know_ there should be an i2c mouse?

Oct 10 2018, 10:09 PM · Contributor Reviews (base)

Oct 6 2018

marc.priggemeyer_gmail.com added a comment to D16698: First draft HID over I2C support (Mouse only).

Hello Marc,
Thanks for your quick answer.
My revision is r339210. So I guess I should try 338291.
Regards
Thomas

Oct 6 2018, 2:01 PM · Contributor Reviews (base)
marc.priggemeyer_gmail.com added a comment to D16698: First draft HID over I2C support (Mouse only).

Hi Thomas,

Oct 6 2018, 12:27 PM · Contributor Reviews (base)

Sep 22 2018

marc.priggemeyer_gmail.com updated the test plan for D16698: First draft HID over I2C support (Mouse only).
Sep 22 2018, 9:32 PM · Contributor Reviews (base)
marc.priggemeyer_gmail.com updated the diff for D16698: First draft HID over I2C support (Mouse only).
  • Tested against base revision 338291.
  • Sampling mode was added to periodically poll for reporrts (see Test Plan for further information)
  • Still make sure to have a running iicbus implementation
  • it was reported in https://bugs.freebsd.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=221777 that a panic occures when trying to load iichid and acpi_iichid by bootloader kld_list in rc.conf is still the way to go if you tested manually beforehand.
Sep 22 2018, 9:25 PM · Contributor Reviews (base)

Aug 15 2018

marc.priggemeyer_gmail.com added a comment to D16698: First draft HID over I2C support (Mouse only).

It appears that GPIO interrupt allocation is implemented in general, but I think chipset support might yet be missing for Intel PCH.

Aug 15 2018, 2:11 PM · Contributor Reviews (base)

Aug 14 2018

marc.priggemeyer_gmail.com added a comment to D16698: First draft HID over I2C support (Mouse only).

Hi Daniel,

Aug 14 2018, 12:07 PM · Contributor Reviews (base)

Aug 13 2018

marc.priggemeyer_gmail.com added a comment to D16698: First draft HID over I2C support (Mouse only).

Daniel provideddmesg output for his laptop, thanks for the effort.
iichid_acpi0: <HID over I2C (ACPI)> on acpi0
iichid_acpi0: descriptor register address is 20
iichid_acpi0: unexpected type 17 while parsing Current Resource Settings (_CSR
)
iichid_acpi0: parent device is "\134_SB_.PCI0.I2C0"
iichid0: <HID over I2C> at addr 0x20 on iicbus0
iichid0: ADDR 0x20 REG 0x20
iichid0: determined (len=34) and described (len=36) input report lengths misma
tch
iichid_acpi0: added iichid0 ADDR 0x20 REG 0x20 to iicbus0
iichid_acpi0: allocated irq at 0x0 and rid 0
iichid_acpi0: could not allocate IRQ resource
iichid_acpi1: <HID over I2C (ACPI)> on acpi0
iichid_acpi1: descriptor register address is 20
iichid_acpi1: unexpected type 17 while parsing Current Resource Settings (_CSR
)
iichid_acpi1: parent device is "\134_SB_.PCI0.I2C1"
iichid1: <HID over I2C> at addr 0x15 on iicbus1
iichid1: ADDR 0x15 REG 0x20
iichid1: determined (len=62) and described (len=64) input report lengths misma
tch
iichid_acpi1: added iichid1 ADDR 0x15 REG 0x20 to iicbus1
iichid_acpi1: allocated irq at 0x0 and rid 0
iichid_acpi1: could not allocate IRQ resource

Aug 13 2018, 9:59 AM · Contributor Reviews (base)

Aug 12 2018

marc.priggemeyer_gmail.com updated the test plan for D16698: First draft HID over I2C support (Mouse only).
Aug 12 2018, 11:36 PM · Contributor Reviews (base)
marc.priggemeyer_gmail.com created D16698: First draft HID over I2C support (Mouse only).
Aug 12 2018, 10:51 PM · Contributor Reviews (base)