Page MenuHomeFreeBSD

Remove RESTRICTED from devel/p4 and devel/p4api
ClosedPublic

Authored by asomers on Nov 23 2016, 4:11 PM.
Tags
None
Referenced Files
Unknown Object (File)
Sat, Nov 26, 2:11 PM
Unknown Object (File)
Apr 15 2017, 5:53 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Feb 21 2017, 6:35 PM
Unknown Object (File)
Feb 16 2017, 3:29 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Feb 11 2017, 7:58 PM
Unknown Object (File)
Feb 4 2017, 3:30 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Dec 31 2016, 5:12 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Dec 27 2016, 11:04 AM
Subscribers

Details

Summary

devel/p4 and devel/p4api are BSD licensed, even though the distfile does not
include any license file. The source for these ports is separately
distributed through swarm.workshop.perforce.com, and Perforce support
assures me that the license found in the source also applies to the binary
distfile used by these ports.

Diff Detail

Repository
rP FreeBSD ports repository
Lint
Lint Not Applicable
Unit
Tests Not Applicable

Event Timeline

asomers retitled this revision from to Remove RESTRICTED from devel/p4 and devel/p4api.
asomers updated this object.
asomers edited the test plan for this revision. (Show Details)
asomers added a reviewer: gordon.

Should we start building it from source (later on)?

Should we start building it from source (later on)?

Sadly, no, for two reasons:

  1. The open source release of p4 lags behind the binary release. Basically, perforce's developers work on the binary release, and the community relations team copies that code into the open source repository on their own schedule. And the lag can be many months.
  2. Perforce has no stable distfiles. It's like the "download zip" button from Github. Whenever the repository changes, the download changes. This causes havoc with Ports, and it also makes me skeptical of the code's stability. Technically, the binary release doesn't have stable distfiles either, but at least it doesn't change continuously.

I've tried explaining to Perforce why their release practices suck, but they don't seem to understand.

Last time I checked (and it was like 2 months ago) redistribution was strictly forbidden, this would be a real, real, change on their side.

In D8623#180150, @mat wrote:

Last time I checked (and it was like 2 months ago) redistribution was strictly forbidden, this would be a real, real, change on their side.

Catherine Louis of Perforce's support department assures me that the BSD license present in swarm.workshop.perforce.com also applies to the binaries distributed from ftp.perforce.com. Note however that of the things we package, only p4, p4api, and rubygem-p4ruby are on swarm.workshop.perforce.com. p4d, p4p, etc will remain restricted.

@mat are you satisfied by my explanation? If so, would you please accept the review? I haven't heard anything from @gordon .

mat edited edge metadata.

Sure.

Note that the maintainer timeout thingie in the ports tree is about the PR, not about a code review :-)
So if you want to claim a timeout, it should be put in a PR.

This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Dec 29 2016, 10:44 PM
This revision was automatically updated to reflect the committed changes.