Page MenuHomeFreeBSD

beastie theme: en.toml apostrophes and more
ClosedPublic

Authored by grahamperrin on Nov 25 2022, 12:01 PM.
Tags
None
Referenced Files
Unknown Object (File)
Sat, Jan 7, 8:03 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Thu, Jan 5, 5:26 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Dec 25 2022, 10:10 AM
Unknown Object (File)
Dec 14 2022, 11:56 PM
Unknown Object (File)
Nov 26 2022, 4:56 PM
F52155336: image.png
Nov 26 2022, 4:53 PM
F52095425: image.png
Nov 25 2022, 12:28 PM
F52094723: image.png
Nov 25 2022, 12:08 PM

Details

Summary

Apostrophes are not necessary in phrases such as 'FreeBSD's Handbook' and 'Documentation's Handbook'.

'Presentation and papers': should be plural, 'Presentations and papers'.

A few other suggested changes.


I noticed FreeBSD's Handbook at https://docs.freebsd.org/en/ a few weeks ago.

The diff here in Phabricator is taken from the beastie-theme-en branch of my fork in GitHub, https://github.com/grahamperrin/freebsd-doc/tree/beastie-theme-en.

Test Plan

Diff Detail

Repository
R9 FreeBSD doc repository
Lint
Lint Not Applicable
Unit
Tests Not Applicable

Event Timeline

grahamperrin created this revision.
documentation/themes/beastie/i18n/en.toml
155

Is this the origin of the words in the yellow button at the home page?

image.png (84×190 px, 5 KB)

Test plan looks like it has text intended for summary?

English change itself LGTM.

Thanks,

Test plan looks like it has text intended for summary?

Yeah, I couldn't put what I really wanted in the test plan at the time of creating the review.

Re: subsequent https://reviews.freebsd.org/D37503#852612, I'm unsure of the effect of changing download-freebsd.

documentation/themes/beastie/i18n/en.toml
155

On closer inspection, more likely the origin of this part of https://docs.freebsd.org/en/:

image.png (572×1 px, 82 KB)

(Not the origin of what's in the yellow button in the previous comment.)

Can someone confirm? Thanks

carlavilla added a subscriber: carlavilla.

Looks good to me.
Only to improve my English. Why "FreeBSD's Handbook" is not ok?
I always thought that you use this to express that the Handbook is "property?" of FreeBSD.

This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Nov 26 2022, 11:55 AM

Looks good to me.
Only to improve my English. Why "FreeBSD's Handbook" is not ok?
I always thought that you use this to express that the Handbook is "property?" of FreeBSD.

That’s correct, and strictly speaking it is correct if you think of the Handbook as belonging to FreeBSD. However, it is preferable to express as the “FreeBSD Handbook” to show that it is a handbook *about* FreeBSD.

If you think about “Cat Handbook” vs “Cat’s Handbook” the difference may be clearer.

documentation/themes/beastie/i18n/en.toml
155

Definitely the yellow "Download FreeBSD" button. Maybe the other text as well. I can't tell for sure. Check

[pauamma@Pusat-Tasek] ~/FreeBSD/doc% git grep -F -A 1 download-freebsd
...
documentation/themes/beastie/i18n/en.toml:[download-freebsd]
documentation/themes/beastie/i18n/en.toml-other = "Download FreeBSD"
--
documentation/themes/beastie/i18n/es.toml:[download-freebsd]
documentation/themes/beastie/i18n/es.toml-other = "Descargar FreeBSD"
--
documentation/themes/beastie/i18n/fr.toml:[download-freebsd]
documentation/themes/beastie/i18n/fr.toml-other = "Télécharger FreeBSD"
...
--
documentation/themes/beastie/i18n/ja.toml:[download-freebsd]
documentation/themes/beastie/i18n/ja.toml-other = "FreeBSD を入手する"

against https://www.freebsd.org/, https://www.freebsd.org/es/, https://www.freebsd.org/fr/, and https://www.freebsd.org/ja/.

documentation/themes/beastie/i18n/en.toml
155

Sorry, I forgot this.
No, this in in the website folder.

Re: D37503#852734

An additional example: the apostrophe in owner's manualhttps://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Owner's_manual.

A manual held by the owner of a Mercedes-Benz:

image.png (266×374 px, 82 KB)

The example in Wikipedia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Owner's_manual#/media/File:Yaris_Owner_Manual.jpg might be described, loosely, as a Toyota owner's manual or Toyota manual but not as a Toyota's manual.

grahamperrin marked 2 inline comments as done.

(Not true. I marked 4 inline comments as done.)