Page MenuHomeFreeBSD

Update libv4l and v4l_compat
ClosedPublic

Authored by kwm on Jan 10 2015, 3:02 PM.

Details

Reviewers
nox
hselasky
kwm
Summary

Update libv4l to 1.6.2.
Turn v4l_compat into a slave port of libv4l.

This needs more testing before it can go in but I wanted a review in while I work on this. 1.5.x version of Gstreamer requires a updated dvb headers.

Note that the ca.h and version.h dvb header are not in the v4l-utils tarball so I have copied them from the old v4l_compat distfile. I haven't checked newer Gstreamer sources yet but we might be able to drop them in the future. After gstreamer-plugin-bad (the 0.10 version) goes away.

The v4l_compat port now does the conversion of linux types to freebsd types. and a few patches to switch the ioctl's around that where wrong. Please check and make sure I didn't forget any of them.

Test Plan

Build tested with webcamd and gstreamer1-plugins-bad (the dvb plugin).
Needs more build testing and runtime testing.

Diff Detail

Lint
Lint Skipped
Unit
Unit Tests Skipped

Event Timeline

kwm updated this revision to Diff 3089.Jan 10 2015, 3:02 PM
kwm retitled this revision from to Update libv4l and v4l_compat.
kwm updated this object.
kwm edited the test plan for this revision. (Show Details)
kwm added a reviewer: hselasky.
kwm updated this revision to Diff 3090.Jan 10 2015, 3:14 PM

Some more Makefile cleanup

hselasky edited edge metadata.EditedJan 10 2015, 11:24 PM

Hi, Thanks for helping out in this area. I have some preliminary work done at for libv4l 1.4.x:

svn --username anonsvn --password anonsvn checkout svn://svn.turbocat.net/i4b/trunk/ports
cd ports/multimedia/libv4l

--HPS

kwm updated this revision to Diff 3102.Jan 11 2015, 8:55 AM
kwm edited edge metadata.

So merged from hans's version:
Depend on argp-standalone.
Disable dvbv5.
Make sure pkgconfig is available.

kwm updated this revision to Diff 3115.Jan 11 2015, 3:15 PM
kwm added a reviewer: nox.

Update patch to be whitespace safe (hopefully)

kwm updated this revision to Diff 3118.Jan 11 2015, 10:06 PM

Non-borked version I hope.

kwm added a comment.Jan 11 2015, 10:06 PM

work on v4l-utils is planned

nox edited edge metadata.Jan 11 2015, 10:38 PM

May have more comments later (once vdr builds again when osd.h is back, etc)

Thanx! :)

multimedia/v4l_compat/files/ca.h
85

CA_GET_SLOT_INFO, CA_GET_MSG need to be _IOWR not _IOR as per the deleted patch-dvb-ca.h

multimedia/v4l_compat/pkg-plist
10

net.h may still be needed, osd.h definitely is (by vdr at least)

kwm updated this revision to Diff 3367.Jan 23 2015, 10:38 PM
kwm edited edge metadata.

Move patches to libv4l/files.
put the dvb headers in a tarball extracted from linux kernel distfile.
Install dvb osd.h header.
Make sure ca.h is patched and apply frontend.h normal patch to the dvb headers.
Install libdvbv5 library (untested)

kwm added a comment.Jan 23 2015, 10:40 PM

Should the phab patch be unusable (no idea why btw) http://people.freebsd.org/~kwm/v4l-1.6.2.diff

kwm updated this revision to Diff 3373.Jan 23 2015, 11:16 PM

Forgot to svn add some files

kwm updated this revision to Diff 3374.Jan 23 2015, 11:22 PM

Fix dvb/osd.h header

kwm updated this revision to Diff 3375.Jan 23 2015, 11:34 PM

Fix another issue nox found. Sorry for the spam.

kwm updated this revision to Diff 3536.Jan 30 2015, 10:38 AM

Unbreak v4l-utils, we don't install the udev rules.. Also I'm not sure how good the v4l-utils are yet.
The only show stopper currently is the whole mozilla stack: thunderbird,firefox, seamonkey etc.

jbeich set the repository for this revision to rP FreeBSD ports repository.Mar 8 2015, 9:05 PM
jbeich added a subscriber: jbeich.
In D1482#24, @kwm wrote:

The only show stopper currently is the whole mozilla stack: thunderbird,firefox, seamonkey etc.

Unblocked by rP380801.

nox added a comment.Mar 22 2015, 2:07 PM

The diff meanwhile needs to be synced with recent portstree changes, for example @dirrm were removed from some plists; also the v4l-utils fix from rP381524 needs to be forward-ported to the updated version.

kwm updated this revision to Diff 5745.May 28 2015, 12:56 PM

Update to 1.6.3.

Catch up to port changes.

Not forward ported the change from rP381524 yet.
The getsubopt() function is used in a few files, we probably
want to come up with a way to switch them all over?

kwm accepted this revision.Jun 14 2015, 5:24 AM
kwm added a reviewer: kwm.
This revision is now accepted and ready to land.Jun 14 2015, 5:24 AM
kwm closed this revision.Jun 14 2015, 5:24 AM