HomeFreeBSD

MFV r318946: 8021 ARC buf data scatter-ization

Description

MFV r318946: 8021 ARC buf data scatter-ization

illumos/illumos-gate@770499e185d15678ccb0be57ebc626ad18d93383
https://github.com/illumos/illumos-gate/commit/770499e185d15678ccb0be57ebc626ad18d93383

https://www.illumos.org/issues/8021

The ARC buf data project (known simply as "ABD" since its genesis in the ZoL
community) changes the way the ARC allocates `b_pdata` memory from using linear
`void *` buffers to using scatter/gather lists of fixed-size 1KB chunks. This
improves ZFS's performance by helping to defragment the address space occupied
by the ARC, in particular for cases where compressed ARC is enabled. It could
also ease future work to allocate pages directly from `segkpm` for minimal-
overhead memory allocations, bypassing the `kmem` subsystem.
This is essentially the same change as the one which recently landed in ZFS on
Linux, although they made some platform-specific changes while adapting this
work to their codebase:
1. Implemented the equivalent of the `segkpm` suggestion for future work
mentioned above to bypass issues that they've had with the Linux kernel memory
allocator.
2. Changed the internal representation of the ABD's scatter/gather list so it
could be used to pass I/O directly into Linux block device drivers. (This
feature is not available in the illumos block device interface yet.)

FreeBSD notes:

  • the actual (default) chunk size is 4KB (despite the text above saying 1KB)
  • we can try to reimplement ABDs, so that they are not permanently mapped into the KVA unless explicitly requested, especially on platforms with scarce KVA
  • we can try to use unmapped I/O and avoid intermediate allocation of a linear, virtual memory mapped buffer
  • we can try to avoid extra data copying by referring to chunks / pages in the original ABD

Reviewed by: Matthew Ahrens <mahrens@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: George Wilson <george.wilson@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Paul Dagnelie <pcd@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: John Kennedy <john.kennedy@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Prakash Surya <prakash.surya@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Prashanth Sreenivasa <pks@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Pavel Zakharov <pavel.zakharov@delphix.com>
Reviewed by: Chris Williamson <chris.williamson@delphix.com>
Approved by: Richard Lowe <richlowe@richlowe.net>
Author: Dan Kimmel <dan.kimmel@delphix.com>

MFC after: 3 weeks

Details

Committed
avgJun 20 2017, 5:39 PM
Reviewer
matthew
Parents
rS320155: MFC r319932:
Branches
Unknown
Tags
Unknown