Page MenuHomeFreeBSD

ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com (Ionut Mihalache)
User

Projects

User does not belong to any projects.

User Details

User Since
Sep 9 2020, 9:47 AM (101 w, 7 h)

Recent Activity

Tue, Jul 26

ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com updated the diff for D29262: Bhyve - Using JSON format for saving and restoring the state.

I rebased the code with a recent of the code.
I applied the feedback for kern_snapshot.c: I updated the copyright and I remove the unnecessary headers.
I tested again to make sure that the suspend/restore functionalities are working (I applied the same test plan).

Tue, Jul 26, 9:24 AM · bhyve

May 2 2022

ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com updated the diff for D34547: bhyve - snapshot capsicum integration[Part 1].

I renamed the limiting functions for the file descriptor as @emaste suggested.

May 2 2022, 1:27 PM

Apr 22 2022

ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com added inline comments to D34547: bhyve - snapshot capsicum integration[Part 1].
Apr 22 2022, 3:20 PM

Apr 18 2022

ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com updated the diff for D34547: bhyve - snapshot capsicum integration[Part 1].

Add EPRINTLN to handle raw mode when printing the error messages for the created functions.

Apr 18 2022, 12:31 PM
ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com added a comment to D34547: bhyve - snapshot capsicum integration[Part 1].
In D34547#791959, @rew wrote:

What about receiving the file descriptors from the nvlist?

The sender (e.g., bhyvectl) opens the file descriptors and adds them to the nvlist; then bhyve gets the descriptors from the nvlist and writes to it. I think that would let us to skip out on adding the -t flag and ckp_path altogether..?

Part of the problem with that is, three file descriptors would need to be sent across. And considering the snapshot data model isn't set in stone..

it'd be nice if the snapshot feature only used one file descriptor to do its work.

thoughts?

Apr 18 2022, 12:20 PM

Apr 15 2022

ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com updated the diff for D34547: bhyve - snapshot capsicum integration[Part 1].

I applied most of the changes recommended by @markj. I did not add the documentation for the "-t" yet. @gusev.vitaliy_gmail.com i did add VM_SNAPSHOT_REQ to vm_get_ioctls() and I did move init_checkpoint_thread() before cap_enter() in bhyverun.c; I did not implement the first recommendation yet considering the feedback from @markj and I don't know exactly if I should remove or not the "-t <checkpoint_dir_path>" approach. What do you think of this current patch version?

Apr 15 2022, 1:47 PM

Apr 8 2022

ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com abandoned D34587: bhyve - snapshot capsicum integration[Part 3].
Apr 8 2022, 4:12 PM
ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com abandoned D34586: bhyve - snapshot capsicum integration[Part 2].
Apr 8 2022, 4:11 PM
ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com updated the diff for D34547: bhyve - snapshot capsicum integration[Part 1].

I did one more update to the proposed implementation. Initially I did a split in order to make the review process easier. After applying the recommended changes parts 2 and 3 of the stack are not needed anymore because the code turned out to be enough for one ticket. This last update contains all the changes for the capsicum integration and I will archive parts 2 and 3. If you have any others changes that you consider that should be applied please use only this ticket. I am eager to see what is your opinion after all the changes were applied.

Apr 8 2022, 4:09 PM

Apr 1 2022

ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com updated the diff for D34547: bhyve - snapshot capsicum integration[Part 1].

I updated the revision to match the changes applied in https://reviews.freebsd.org/D34587 as well to solve an issue when the first disk path is /dev/md0. Now the snapshot directory can be specified at boot time using -t option.
I also applied the code refactorization to match part 3(https://reviews.freebsd.org/D34587) of the stack review.

Apr 1 2022, 2:17 PM
ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com added a comment to D34547: bhyve - snapshot capsicum integration[Part 1].

The solution that I am working will add a way to specify the checkpoint directory at boot time.

To be clear, we should wait for further updates to the revision?

Apr 1 2022, 1:21 PM

Mar 30 2022

ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com updated subscribers of D34587: bhyve - snapshot capsicum integration[Part 3].
Mar 30 2022, 8:44 AM
ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com removed a reviewer for D34547: bhyve - snapshot capsicum integration[Part 1]: elenamihailescu22_gmail.com.
Mar 30 2022, 8:43 AM
ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com updated subscribers of D34586: bhyve - snapshot capsicum integration[Part 2].
Mar 30 2022, 8:43 AM
ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com added a reviewer for D34547: bhyve - snapshot capsicum integration[Part 1]: elenamihailescu22_gmail.com.
Mar 30 2022, 8:42 AM

Mar 23 2022

ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com updated the test plan for D34547: bhyve - snapshot capsicum integration[Part 1].
Mar 23 2022, 2:12 PM
ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com updated the diff for D34587: bhyve - snapshot capsicum integration[Part 3].

Made the necessary changes to the solution in order to solve a issue mentioned by @rew(there is a problem when the first disk uses /dev/md0. Instead of using the parent directory of the first disk, now the snapshot directory can be specified at boot time using -t option.
I also did refactor the code to remove unnecessary/unused parts before and after the changes.

Mar 23 2022, 2:04 PM

Mar 18 2022

ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com added a comment to D34547: bhyve - snapshot capsicum integration[Part 1].
In D34547#783705, @rew wrote:

You have broken up https://reviews.freebsd.org/D30471 into multiple reviews without addressing the issues I raised in the original review.

Mar 18 2022, 4:28 PM

Mar 17 2022

ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com updated the test plan for D34547: bhyve - snapshot capsicum integration[Part 1].
Mar 17 2022, 3:27 PM
ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com updated the summary of D34547: bhyve - snapshot capsicum integration[Part 1].
Mar 17 2022, 3:24 PM
ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com requested review of D34587: bhyve - snapshot capsicum integration[Part 3].
Mar 17 2022, 2:41 PM
ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com requested review of D34586: bhyve - snapshot capsicum integration[Part 2].
Mar 17 2022, 2:34 PM
ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com updated the diff for D34547: bhyve - snapshot capsicum integration[Part 1].
Mar 17 2022, 1:32 PM

Mar 14 2022

ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com updated the diff for D34547: bhyve - snapshot capsicum integration[Part 1].
Mar 14 2022, 1:58 PM
ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com retitled D34547: bhyve - snapshot capsicum integration[Part 1] from bhyve - snapshot capsicum integration to bhyve - snapshot capsicum integration[Part 1].
Mar 14 2022, 1:55 PM
ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com updated the summary of D34547: bhyve - snapshot capsicum integration[Part 1].
Mar 14 2022, 1:43 PM
ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com requested review of D34547: bhyve - snapshot capsicum integration[Part 1].
Mar 14 2022, 1:41 PM

Jul 12 2021

ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com added inline comments to D30471: Bhyve - Capsicum integration.
Jul 12 2021, 11:32 AM · bhyve

Jul 1 2021

ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com updated the diff for D29262: Bhyve - Using JSON format for saving and restoring the state.

Fix year type in kern_snapshot.c.

Jul 1 2021, 4:26 PM · bhyve

Jun 5 2021

ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com updated the diff for D30471: Bhyve - Capsicum integration.

I replaced ucl_parser_add_file with ucl_parser_add_fd in order to provide all the restrictions for the metadata file used during the restore process. I also a part of the changes suggested by emaste.

Jun 5 2021, 10:10 AM · bhyve

May 26 2021

ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com requested review of D30471: Bhyve - Capsicum integration.
May 26 2021, 3:48 PM · bhyve

Apr 8 2021

ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com updated the diff for D26387: bhyve - Snapshot Save and Restore multiple devices.

Rebased with a newer upstream and applied the changes from the review https://reviews.freebsd.org/D29538.

Apr 8 2021, 9:37 AM · bhyve

Mar 14 2021

ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com updated the summary of D29262: Bhyve - Using JSON format for saving and restoring the state.
Mar 14 2021, 5:41 PM · bhyve
ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com requested review of D29262: Bhyve - Using JSON format for saving and restoring the state.
Mar 14 2021, 5:38 PM · bhyve

Oct 2 2020

ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com updated the diff for D26387: bhyve - Snapshot Save and Restore multiple devices.

Removed redundant lines; applied most of the recommended changes.

Oct 2 2020, 6:27 AM · bhyve

Sep 14 2020

ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com updated the diff for D26387: bhyve - Snapshot Save and Restore multiple devices.

vm_snapshot_kern_structs was called two times and probably caused a problem with save restore for multiple devices

Sep 14 2020, 1:47 PM · bhyve

Sep 10 2020

ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com updated subscribers of D26387: bhyve - Snapshot Save and Restore multiple devices.
Sep 10 2020, 10:28 AM · bhyve
ionut.mihalache1506_gmail.com requested review of D26387: bhyve - Snapshot Save and Restore multiple devices.
Sep 10 2020, 10:22 AM · bhyve