Page MenuHomeFreeBSD

Mk/bsd.options.mk: Do not enable options that do not exist.
ClosedPublic

Authored by mat on Jan 17 2018, 4:44 PM.

Details

Reviewers
None
Group Reviewers
portmgr
Commits
rP479428: Do not enable options that do not exist.
Summary

Many bits of the framework check for PORT_OPTIONS:MDOCS, which is on even if
the option is not defined.

Diff Detail

Lint
No Linters Available
Unit
No Unit Test Coverage
Build Status
Buildable 14455
Build 14602: arc lint + arc unit

Event Timeline

mat created this revision.Jan 17 2018, 4:44 PM

won't this change all the rubygem packages?

all r-cran and drupal packages too

swills added a subscriber: swills.Jan 17 2018, 9:14 PM

won't this change all the rubygem packages?

Almost all, some have DOCS options, but I think it's OK. I doubt anyone will miss the docs anyway.

mat updated this revision to Diff 38138.Jan 18 2018, 1:31 PM
  • Allow those options to be in a group, or something.
mat added a comment.Jan 18 2018, 1:54 PM

won't this change all the rubygem packages?
all r-cran and drupal packages too

Those that do not have a DOCS option, yes. Same for all ports that use PORTDOCS/PORTEXAMPLES or %%PORTDOCS%%/%%PORTEXAMPLES%%.

The "new" options framework was commited in rP297660 on May 29 2012, 161k commits ago. It is way past time to remove the "compat" layer for how it was before.

I'd only be ok with this after proof is posted that nothing is referring to ${PORT_OPTIONS:MDOCS} or <target>-DOCS-* without the _DOCS_ option in the list.

mat added a comment.Jan 25 2018, 1:44 PM

I'd only be ok with this after proof is posted that nothing is referring to ${PORT_OPTIONS:MDOCS} or <target>-DOCS-* without the _DOCS_ option in the list.

Well, people using the DOCS option without actually using it are doing it wrong, I am not sure we want to fix everyone's mess.

I have D13651 that somewhat takes it one step further and has a lot of OPTIONS_DEFINE=DOCS added.

linimon retitled this revision from Do not enable options that do not exist. to Mk/bsd.options.mk: Do not enable options that do not exist..Aug 2 2018, 10:24 PM
mat updated this revision to Diff 47866.Sep 10 2018, 2:21 PM

rebase

mat added a comment.Sep 10 2018, 2:23 PM

So, all the ports who were missing DOCS and EXAMPLES options have been fixed in rP479406 and rP479407.

mat updated this revision to Diff 47869.Sep 10 2018, 2:38 PM

rebase

  • Add IPV6 option to ports using it but not defining it.
  • Add NLS option to ports using it but not defining it.
  • Do not enable options that do not exist.
This revision was not accepted when it landed; it landed in state Needs Review.Sep 10 2018, 2:41 PM
This revision was automatically updated to reflect the committed changes.