Do not create multiple INDEX lines per port for now
Needs ReviewPublic

Authored by antoine on Dec 1 2017, 8:20 PM.

Details

Reviewers
None
Group Reviewers
portmgr
Summary

Right now, the INDEX created by make index is a bit buggy, it picks up a random flavor package name for the dependencies
If we create only one line per port with the default flavor, it will still be wrong but less wrong (~100 wrong lines vs 3000 or 4000)

Diff Detail

Repository
rP FreeBSD ports repository
Lint
No Linters Available
Unit
No Unit Test Coverage
Build Status
Buildable 13245
Build 13484: arc lint + arc unit
antoine created this revision.Dec 1 2017, 8:20 PM
Herald added 1 blocking reviewer(s): portmgr. · View Herald TranscriptDec 1 2017, 8:20 PM
Herald added a subscriber: mat. · View Herald Transcript
mat added a comment.Dec 4 2017, 12:39 PM

Well, no, the dependencies lines don't have flavors, so, they get the default flavor, I am not sure how this could be fixed, I have no idea what actually uses INDEX.

py27-git-up-1.4.5|/home/mat/work/freebsd/ports/devel/py-git-up|/usr/local|Python implementation of 'git up'|/home/mat/work/freebsd/ports/devel/py-git-up/pkg-descr|che@bein.link|devel python||||/home/mat/work/freebsd/ports/devel/py-setuptools /home/mat/work/freebsd/ports/lang/python27|/home/mat/work/freebsd/ports/devel/py-click /home/mat/work/freebsd/ports/devel/py-colorama /home/mat/work/freebsd/ports/devel/py-gitpython /home/mat/work/freebsd/ports/devel/py-setuptools /home/mat/work/freebsd/ports/devel/py-six /home/mat/work/freebsd/ports/devel/py-termcolor /home/mat/work/freebsd/ports/lang/python27|https://pypi.python.org/pypi/git-up
py36-git-up-1.4.5|/home/mat/work/freebsd/ports/devel/py-git-up|/usr/local|Python implementation of 'git up'|/home/xmat/work/freebsd/ports/devel/py-git-up/pkg-descr|che@bein.link|devel python||||/home/mat/work/freebsd/ports/devel/py-setuptools /home/mat/work/freebsd/ports/lang/python36|/home/mat/work/freebsd/ports/devel/py-click /home/mat/work/freebsd/ports/devel/py-colorama /home/mat/work/freebsd/ports/devel/py-gitpython /home/mat/work/freebsd/ports/devel/py-setuptools /home/mat/work/freebsd/ports/devel/py-six /home/mat/work/freebsd/ports/devel/py-termcolor /home/mat/work/freebsd/ports/lang/python36|https://pypi.python.org/pypi/git-up

After passing through make_index, it looks like:

py27-git-up-1.4.5|/usr/ports/devel/py-git-up|/usr/local|Python implementation of 'git up'|/usr/ports/devel/py-git-up/pkg-descr|che@bein.link|devel python|gettext-runtime-0.19.8.1_1 indexinfo-0.3.1 libffi-3.2.1_1 py36-setuptools-36.5.0 python27-2.7.14_1 python36-3.6.3 readline-7.0.3_1|gettext-runtime-0.19.8.1_1 indexinfo-0.3.1 libffi-3.2.1_1 py27-GitPython-2.1.7 py27-click-6.7 py27-gitdb2-2.0.3 py27-termcolor-1.1.0_1 py36-colorama-0.3.7 py36-ddt-1.1.1 py36-setuptools-36.5.0 py36-six-1.11.0 py36-smmap2-2.0.3 python27-2.7.14_1 python36-3.6.3 readline-7.0.3_1|https://pypi.python.org/pypi/git-up|||
py36-git-up-1.4.5|/usr/ports/devel/py-git-up|/usr/local|Python implementation of 'git up'|/usr/ports/devel/py-git-up/pkg-descr|che@bein.link|devel python|gettext-runtime-0.19.8.1_1 indexinfo-0.3.1 libffi-3.2.1_1 py36-setuptools-36.5.0 python36-3.6.3 readline-7.0.3_1|gettext-runtime-0.19.8.1_1 indexinfo-0.3.1 libffi-3.2.1_1 py27-GitPython-2.1.7 py27-click-6.7 py27-gitdb2-2.0.3 py27-termcolor-1.1.0_1 py36-colorama-0.3.7 py36-ddt-1.1.1 py36-setuptools-36.5.0 py36-six-1.11.0 py36-smmap2-2.0.3 python27-2.7.14_1 python36-3.6.3 readline-7.0.3_1|https://pypi.python.org/pypi/git-up|||

I know portsnap uses INDEX but I don't know why.

mat added a comment.Dec 4 2017, 2:13 PM

Mmmmm, I thought I could fix this, but there's a make_index in base that is part of portsnap...

Anyway, I would like to keep the multi-line version of make describe, so I think adding a || ${BUILDING_INDEX} to line 4352 works too.